普查外联活动的启示

移民与其他边缘化社区一样,被美国人口普查局贴上 "难以统计 "的标签。这意味着移民在某种程度上是缺乏信息或兴趣的。我们的工作则不然.

今年春天,MAF领导了一个深思熟虑、有针对性的人口普查外展活动。通过精心设计富有感情的、与文化相关的信息,并建立在信任的基础上,将非营利组织与我们所服务的客户联系起来,MAF推动了这一活动。人口普查局估计2020年人口普查的响应率为60%,是几十年来最低的。在我们为期一周的数字优先外展活动之后,我们看到MAF的客户将这一数字提高到83%。这在很大程度上是由移民客户推动的,他们的参与度最高,对短信外展的回复率达到了惊人的54%,是行业标准的两倍多。我们发现,移民其实是最容易被统计的。

我们向该领域提供这种见解,以便为努力争取在人口普查中提高边缘化社区的声音的广泛组织联盟的工作提供信息。MAF相信,非营利组织在这一努力中的独特作用植根于长期培养的信任关系。作为当今错误信息战争中的一盏明灯,非营利组织是关键和可靠信息的重要使者。

在9月30日的截止日期之前,时间已经不多了,所以我们已经汇编了可操作的见解,以告知MAF网络内外的合作伙伴所需的关键努力。以下是我们的普查活动的故事,详细介绍了我们所做的工作和学到的经验教训。我们希望您能发现这些经验教训是有用的,并将其应用到您自己的工作中,并且您会考虑加入我们,因为我们将继续提升我们每天服务的令人难以置信的人的声音。

MAF从我们客户的生活经验开始。

在人口普查外联活动中,我们使用的信息必须既及时又相关。不过,很快就发现 标准报文 从人口普查局得到的信息都不是。我们从人口普查局发现的两个最常见的信息是从权力(国会代表权)或金钱(联邦预算拨款)的角度来描述人口普查的重要性。对于那些被告知他们在民主进程中根本没有地位,并且经常被剥夺社会服务的人来说,这些观点充其量是毫无意义的,或者在最坏的情况下是侮辱性的。

基于我们对客户生活的丰富了解,我们知道改进信息传递是很简单的。关键是要以归属感和社区为中心,制作出具有情感吸引力和文化相关性的语言。

为了测试我们的直觉,我们设计了一个活动,将2个标准人口普查信息的结果与我们内部创建的2个信息进行比较。另一个非营利组织,即移民宣传组织。 一个美国人。 加入了我们的活动。我们一起通过电子邮件和短信相结合的方式,将这些信息传递给英语和西班牙语社区的4200名客户。

结果出来了:在我们的活动中,最有效的一个宣传角度不是权力和金钱,而是归属感。

这一结果意味着,提升真正被接受的体验的信息是强有力的。也许是因为它与国家主流话语背道而驰,这种话语积极否认人性,拒绝移民社区作为美国生活的充分参与者的有效性。作为一个组织,MAF从来没有回避过以下问题 推回 在主流话语权上,这次运动的结果表明了原因。

在MAF,制作信息不是简单的传播信息,而是努力与客户的灵魂对话。我们坚持认为,信息传递必须与客户的核心对话,因为我们所做的一切,从公告到新服务,都是基于这样一个假设:我们的客户是复杂的、独特的人,他们远比一个数据点能够捕捉到的更多。当我们根据客户的生活和情感体验来表达信息时,我们是在触及他们的心灵,而不是头脑。活动结果表明,这是成功的基本策略。

短信是最有效的沟通方式,特别是对于讲西班牙语的客户来说。

该活动的第二个见解是围绕方法。选择英语作为首选语言的客户比选择西班牙语的客户更有可能回复电子邮件。然而对于短信来说,情况恰恰相反。英语客户的回复率为41%,而西班牙语客户对我们的短信回复率高达52%。

这些结果推翻了西班牙语社区难以接触或 "难以计算 "的普遍说法。我们发现的情况正好相反。如果信息正确,并通过正确的媒介有针对性地进行宣传,讲西班牙语的客户远远没有脱离,事实上他们的参与度最高。因此,外展经理的责任是用这些见解为他们的活动提供信息,以便最有效地满足我们社区的需求。

有了这些结果,我们开始与其他非营利组织交流,了解他们的公民参与策略。

我们发现,大家都对公民行动的重要性有共同的认识。然而,对于工作过度和资金不足的组织来说,没有多余的能力来开展多渠道的活动,特别是短信工具要么太贵,要么太费时,难以管理。简而言之,市场上现有的工具不是为非营利组织设计的。

我们决定改变这种状况。与软件工作室的技术专家组成的高技能团队合作。 超{集}我们建立了自己的数字工具,使非营利组织能够轻松有效地动员他们的社区。结果是惊人的。

我们向4200名客户开展的三步走活动,获得了令人印象深刻的36%的响应率,据我们估计,为应得的社区争取到了$600万美元的资金。所有这些都是在一周内完成的,并且由一名工作人员管理。我们建立的技术可以让非营利组织在不需要全职活动经理或破费的情况下开展有效的活动。

MAF邀请合作伙伴

在早期与其他非营利组织的交谈中,我们发现大多数人都是依靠80-90%的亲自宣传来开展普查活动。随着COVID的到来,这些计划已经失去了意义。现在,白宫已经将人口普查的时间表缩短了宝贵的一个月,时间正在流逝。

MAF正在利用我们经过测试的信息和开发的技术来扩大人口普查的外展工作。在Grove基金会的支持下,我们正在进行最后的努力,以确保MAF网络中所有辛勤工作的客户都被计算在内,被看到,并得到他们应得的资源。

在这一势头的基础上,我们正在计划开展 "走出去投票"(GOTV)运动,并将从人口普查工作中获得的见解纳入其中。繼續發展MAF的動員工作是一個必要的步驟,因為我們正在注視我們生命中最具歷史性的選舉。這個時刻正呼喚我們所有人站出來,超越我們的標準孤島,提升我們所服務的社區的聲音。

如果您想加入我们不断壮大的合作伙伴社区,分享经验教训,塑造我们新的Beacon平台的未来,请您 给我们发电子邮件.我们的目标是确保一个非营利组织所做的技术对其他非营利组织保持及时性和相关性。你可以在以下网站了解更多关于MAF对公民行动的关注。 这个 首席执行官José Quiñonez和动员主任Joanna Cortez的对话。


PS我们将以我们的教训为例,从以下几个方面为大家介绍一下 历史,以确保不重蹈覆辙。

他们首先是为了移民而来

而我选择了大声说话

因为我们是一家人

然后他们来找穷人

而我选择了大声说话

因为我们是一家人

然后他们来找我

还有其他的

其他很多人

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Insights from Census Outreach Campaign

Immigrants, like other marginalized communities, are labeled as “hard-to-count” by the United States Census Bureau. The implication is that immigrants are in some way lacking, whether in information or interest. Our work says otherwise.

This spring, MAF lead a thoughtful, targeted census outreach campaign. By crafting emotionally engaging, culturally relevant messaging and building on the foundation of trust that connects non-profits to the clients we serve, MAF moved the needle. The Census Bureau estimated a 60% response rate for the 2020 census, the lowest in decades. After our week-long, digital-first outreach campaign, we saw MAF clients bring that number up to 83%. This was driven in large part by immigrant clients who turned out to be most engaged, responding to SMS outreach at an incredible rate of 54%, more than twice the industry standard. Immigrants, we found, were in fact the easiest-to-count.

We offer this insight to the field to inform the work of the wide coalition of organizations fighting hard to lift up the voices of marginalized communities in the census. MAF believes that the unique role of non-profits in this effort is rooted in the relationships of trust cultivated over time. As a beacon of light in the fog of today’s misinformation war, non-profits are critical messengers of crucial and reliable information.

Time is running out before the deadline of September 30th so we’ve compiled actionable insights to inform the needed and critical efforts of partners in the MAF network and beyond. What follows is the story of our census campaign, detailing what we did and the lessons we learned. We hope you find these learnings useful, apply them to your own work, and that you’ll consider joining us as we continue to lift up the voices of the incredible people we serve every day.

MAF begins with the lived experiences of our clients.

In the context of a census outreach campaign, the messaging we used had to be both timely and relevant. It quickly became clear, though, that standard messaging from the Census Bureau was neither. The two most common messages we found from the Census Bureau described the importance of the census in terms of power (congressional representation) or money (federal budget allocations). For people who are being told that they have no place in the democratic process in the first place, and who are routinely denied social services, these points are, at best, meaningless or at worst, insulting.

Based on our rich understanding of the lives of our clients, we knew improving the messaging would be simple. The key was to craft emotionally engaging and culturally relevant language centered on themes of belonging and community.

To test our intuition, we designed a campaign to compare the results of 2 standard census messages against 2 messages we created in-house. Another non-profit, the immigrant advocacy organization OneAmerica, joined in our campaign. Together, we delivered these messages to 4,200 clients across English and Spanish-speaking communities using a combination of email and SMS.

The results came in: the single most effective messaging angle in our campaign was not power or money, but belonging.

This result implies that messaging to lift up the experience of truly being accepted is powerful. Perhaps its because it runs counter to a dominant national discourse that actively denies the humanity and rejects the validity of immigrant communities as full participants in American life. As an organization, MAF has never shied away from pushing back on dominant discourse and the results of this campaign demonstrate why.

To craft messaging at MAF is not simply a matter of disseminating information but, rather, is an effort to speak to the soul. We maintain that messaging must speak to the core of our clients because everything we do, from announcements to new services, starts with the assumption that our clients are complex, unique human beings who are far more than a data point can ever capture. When we articulate messaging that speaks to our clients’ lived, emotional experiences, we are reaching for their hearts, not minds. The campaign results show that this is a fundamental strategy for success.

SMS was the most effective method of communication, especially for clients who speak Spanish.

The second insight of the campaign was around methods. Clients who selected English as their preferred language were more likely to respond to an email than those who preferred Spanish. Yet for SMS, the reverse was true. English-speaking clients responded at a rate of 41% while Spanish-speaking clients responded to our SMS at a staggering 52%

These results push back against the prevailing narrative that Spanish-speaking communities are difficult to reach or “hard to count.” What we found was the exact opposite. With the right message and targeted through the right medium, Spanish-speaking clients are far from disengaged, but in fact the most engaged. The responsibility, then, is on outreach managers to inform their campaigns with these insights in order to most effectively meet our communities where they’re at.

With these results in hand, we began speaking with other non-profits about their civic engagement strategies.

What we found across the board was a shared understanding of the importance of civic action. Yet for overworked and underfunded organizations, there was no excess capacity to run multi-channel campaigns given that SMS tools in particular were either too expensive or time-consuming to manage. Simply put, the existing tools on the market were not built for non-profits.

We decided to change that. In partnership with a highly skilled team of technologists at the software studio super{set}, we built our own digital tool that makes it easy for nonprofits to effectively mobilize their communities. The results were striking.

Our 3-step campaign to 4,200 clients lead to an impressive 36% response rate and, by our estimates, secured $6 million in funding for communities that deserve it. All within one week and managed by one staff member. The technology we built can allow non-profits to lead effective campaigns without a full-time campaign manager or breaking the bank

MAF’s Invitation To Partners

In early conversations with other non-profits, we found that most were relying 80-90% on in-person outreach for their census campaigns. With the onset of COVID, those plans have gone out the window. Now that the White House has cut a precious month off of the census timeline, the clock is ticking.

MAF is showing up by utilizing our tested messaging and developed technology to scale up census outreach efforts. With the support of The Grove Foundation, we’re making final push to ensure that all of hard-working clients in the MAF network are counted, seen and receive the resources they deserve.

Building on this momentum, we’re planning a Get Out The Vote (GOTV) campaign informed by the insights gained from the census work. Continuing to develop MAF’s mobilization efforts is a necessary step because we are staring down the most historic election of our lives. The moment is calling us all to step up, punch above our standard silos and lift up the voices of the communities we serve.

If you’d like to join our growing community of partners sharing lessons learned and shaping the future of our new Beacon platform, please email us. Our goal is to ensure that the technology made by a non—profit remains timely and relevant for other non-profits. You can learn more about MAF’s focus on civic action in this conversation between CEO, José Quiñonez and Director of Mobilization, Joanna Cortez.


PS We’ll leave you with our take on a lesson from history, to ensure it’s mistakes are not repeated.

First they came for the immigrants

And I chose to speak out

Because we are family

Then they came for the poor

And I chose to speak out

Because we are family

Then they came for me

And there were others

So many others

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.