跳到主要内容

召唤所有梦想家


耶稣卡斯特罗分享了他自己的故事,并希望它能激励其他人申请 DACA。

我发现我们在 MAF 的工作中最有力量的一件事是看到年轻的领导者追随他们的热情并回馈社区。 耶稣卡斯特罗 是加入 Lending Circle for Dreamers 并继续倡导移民青年的领导人之一。我采访了他关于一个令人兴奋的 公共服务声明 他与旧金山公民参与和移民事务办公室一起发展,以提高对儿童入境暂缓遣返 (DACA) 的认识。

您是如何加入旧金山公民参与和移民事务办公室的?

我第一次接触公民参与和移民事务办公室 (OCEIA),或者更具体地说是 OCEIA 的主任 Adrienne Pon,是在 Coro 年度午餐会上。发表演讲后如何 Coro 探索领导力计划 改变了我的生活,有几个人上前祝贺我,并讨论我的职业道路,我真的很荣幸。几分钟后,Pon 主任走近我,我认为她对我来说是最引人注目的,因为她的办公室名字。我对争取移民的斗争充满热情,他们的名字是公民参与和移民事务办公室,当我知道我最想获得实习机会时,我立刻注意到了这一点。

PSA 视频的目的是什么?

PSA 的目的是创建一个有用的外展工具来教育人们了解 DACA 并鼓励他们挺身而出并申请。我们还希望将它纳入我们为期一年的 DACA 活动中,以庆祝 DACA 成立一周年,因此作为回应,这个 PSA 视频开始发挥作用。在这个过程中出现了一些小问题,视频被延迟了,但是在一个很棒的朋友的帮助下,我自己的小沙子终于完成了视频,现在开始了 YouTube.该视频还发布在我们的 梦想SF网站.

您在视频中分享您的个人故事感觉如何?

分享我的故事是我真正喜欢做的事情,不仅因为它能让其他人分享他们的故事,还因为它也给了我继续分享我的故事的力量和勇气。这是一种多米诺骨牌效应,他们需要别人的一点勇气来分享他们的故事,而这些人的积极反馈使讲述他们故事的人有勇气继续分享。

符合 DACA 条件的青年尚未申请的原因有哪些?

我不能确定,我也不能代表那些尚未申请 DACA 的人发言,但如果我猜他们为什么没有申请,我会说这是因为他们没有申请”没有钱这样做。申请 DACA 的费用是 $465,这是一笔巨大的投资,而且很多人也不熟悉申请流程和续签需要什么,因此我们需要提供合适的教育和财务资源。

您是如何得知 MAF 的?

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) 无疑在我的生活中发挥了巨大的作用。我第一次听说他们是通过儿童法律服务机构,该组织帮助我完成了 DACA 申请流程。他们建议我去 MAF 寻求经济援助,因为当时他们在贷款服务的基础上为 DACA 申请人提供 $155 奖学金以支付 DACA 申请费用。我加入了他们所谓的 梦想家的Lending Circles 我是否有一步一步填写申请,以便收到支付我申请的支票。现在,该计划为参与者提供了获得团体贷款和储蓄的机会,以便您可以支付申请费用。

该市还尝试通过哪些其他方式帮助移民?

具体来说, 我们的办公室 正在协助移民获得语言准入、入籍服务以及在 DACA 青年/成人移民方面,我们正在启动一项 Dreamsf研究员计划 这是专门针对 DACA 批准的人的,我们有一个 公民之路倡议.

您对全面的移民改革有何期待?

全面的移民改革对目前居住在美国的所有移民来说都是例外。我相信这项全面的改革即将到来,但我们都必须在这个过程中做出努力并表现出对它的兴趣。我们目前有 DACA,但我们的父母和那些不符合 DACA 要求的人呢?并非每个无证人士都有资格获得 DACA,因此在移民改革停滞不前的情况下,许多家庭正在破裂。我们需要前进,否则我们的社区就会受到影响。

公民参与对您意味着什么以及它在您的生活中的重要性?

对我来说,这是我故事的第二章。我已经在 OCEIA 工作了 2 年,这真的是一个家外之家。我非常感谢 Pon 主管让我有机会成为她团队的一员。自从我开始实习以来,工作一直很艰难,我的意思是最感谢的方式。值得庆幸的是,从我所做的所有工作中,我知道我觉得自己为任何其他工作做好了更好的准备。我还要感谢 Richard Whipple,他一路陪伴。他不仅指导我应对工作挑战,还指导我应对生活中的挑战。虽然我在 OCEIA 上做了很多,但这只是开始。我仍然期待与他们共度多年,随着 OCEIA 的发展,我也会如此。


内西玛·阿贝拉 是 Mission Asset Fund 的营销助理和新部门研究员。她喜欢讲故事、社会公益和一杯好茶。你可以联系她 nesima@missionassetfund.org.

Calling all Dreamers

Jesus Castro shares his own story and hopes it inspires others to apply for DACA.

One of the things I find so empowering about our work at MAF is seeing young leaders follow their passion and give back to the community. Jesus Castro is one of those leaders who joined Lending Circle for Dreamers and has gone on to advocate for immigrant youth. I interviewed him about an exciting public service announcement he has developed with the SF Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs to raise awareness about Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA).

Opportunity Google JESUS

How did you get involved with the SF Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs?

The first time I came in contact with the Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs (OCEIA), or more specifically OCEIA’s director, Adrienne Pon, was at the Coro Annual Luncheon. After giving a speech on how Coro’s Exploring Leadership Program changed my life, several people came up to me to congratulate me, and discuss my career path, I was really honored. A couple minutes after Director Pon approached me and I think she stood out to me the most because of her offices name. I am very passionate about the fight for immigrants and, their name being The Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant affairs just caught my eye right away that’s when I knew that I wanted to get that internship more than anything.

What was the purpose of the PSA video?

The PSA’s purpose was to create a useful outreach tool to educate people about DACA and encourage them to come forward and apply. We were also hoping to incorporate it in our one year of DACA event this in celebration of DACA’s one year anniversary, so in response this PSA video came into play. During the process there were some hiccups and the video was delayed but with help from an awesome friend, and my own little grain of sand the video was finally completed and it’s now on YouTube. The video is also posted on our dreamSF website.

How did you feel sharing your personal story in the video?

Sharing my story is something that I really enjoy doing not only because it empowers others to share their stories, but also because it also gives me the strength and courage to keep sharing my story.  It’s a domino effect they need a little courage from others to share their stories, and these people’s positive feedback gives the person telling their story the courage to keep doing sharing.

What are some reasons DACA eligible youth have not applied yet?

I can’t know for sure and I can’t speak on behalf of those who haven’t yet applied for DACA, but if I were to guess why they haven’t applied I would say it’s because of the fact that they don’t have the money to do so. The cost to apply for DACA is $465 which is a huge investment and many people are also unfamiliar with the application process and what it takes to renew, so we need to provide the right educational and financial resources.

How did you find out about MAF?

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) has definitely played a huge role in my life. The first time I heard about them was through Legal Services for Children, the organization that helped me with my DACA application process. They suggested that I go to MAF for financial assistance because at the time they were offering a $155 scholarship for DACA applicants on top of their lending services to pay for the DACA application. I joined what they call Lending Circles for Dreamers were I got a step by step on filling in the application in order to receive the check that would pay for my application. Now, the program offers participants an opportunity to get a group loan and save so you can pay for your application.

What are some other ways the city is trying to assist immigrants?

Specifically, our office is assisting immigrants with language access, naturalization services and in terms of DACA youth/adult immigrants, we are launching a dreamsf fellows program that is specifically for DACA approved people and we have a Pathways to Citizenship initiative.

What are your hopes for comprehensive immigration reform?

A comprehensive immigration reform would be exceptional for all immigrants that currently reside in the U.S. I’m sure this comprehensive reform is around the corner but we just all have to make an effort in the process and show an interest in it. We currently have DACA but what about our parents and those who don’t meet the requirements for DACA? Not every undocumented person qualifies for DACA so many families are being broken up while immigration reforms is at a standstill. We need to move forward or our communities suffer.

What does civic engagement mean to you and how it is important in your life?

To me, it’s the 2nd chapter to my story. I have been with OCEIA for 2 years now and it’s really a home away from home. I can’t thank Director Pon enough for giving me the opportunity to be part of her team. Since the beginning of my internship the work has been tough, and I mean that in the most thankful way. Thankful because from all the work that I have done I know feel better prepared me for whatever other job comes my way. I also want to thank Richard Whipple he has been there every step of the way. He not only guides me through work challenges but also through life’s challenges. Although I have done a lot with OCEIA, this is only the beginning.  I am still looking forward to many years with them, and as OCEIA grows, I will as well.


 

NesimaNesima Aberra is the Marketing Associate and New Sector Fellow at Mission Asset Fund. She loves storytelling, social good and a good cup of tea. You can reach her at [email protected].

 


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.