حلم كاليفورنيا: DACA وصنع حلم أمريكي


عضو MAF ، جو هونغ ، يتحدث عن السيد Hyphen والحلم الأمريكي.

جو هونغ رجل ذو قيود قليلة. وهو باحث مساعد في جامعة هارفارد ، في مشروع البحث الوطني غير المعزز (NURP) ، ومنسق في مركز الرجال في حرم كلية لاني ، وطالب دراسات عليا في جامعة ولاية سان فرانسيسكو وتوج حديثًا السيد هايفن.

جو هو المثل الأعلى للحلم الأمريكي ، جو غير موثق. لقد جاء إلى الولايات المتحدة من كوريا الجنوبية عندما كان أصغر سناً مع والدته التي أرادت حياة أفضل لأطفالها.

تعمل والدتي في وظيفتين في المطعم ، اثني عشر ساعة في اليوم ، سبعة أيام في الأسبوع ، ولم تحصل على إجازة منذ وصولها إلى هذا البلد. يقول جو.

كطالب غير موثق ، لم يتمكن جو من الحصول على وظيفة والحصول على مساعدات مالية والحصول على رخصة قيادة. أخذ جو مثال والدته وقرر أنه سيعمل بجد قدر استطاعته لجعلها فخورة. وذلك عندما سمع جو عن مسابقة استضافها مجلة الواصلة. مع هذه المسابقة ، رأى فرصة لتسليط الضوء على حياة السكان المهاجرين غير المسجلين.

خلق الرؤية

"كانت مجلة Hyphen وسيلة رائعة لتسليط الضوء على قضية الهجرة الحرجة. واحد من كل سبعة مهاجرين كوريين لا يحملون وثائق. يشكل الآسيويون الآن أكبر مجموعة من المهاجرين الجدد في هذا البلد. لا يمكن لمجتمع AAPI تجاهل هذه المشكلة. في الواقع ، يجب على مجتمع AAPI المشاركة في المحادثة والانضمام إلى الجهود المبذولة للدفع من أجل إصلاح هجرة عادل وإنساني شامل ".

من بين 11 مليون شخص لا يحملون وثائق في الولايات المتحدة ، هناك 1.3 مليون آسيوي ، وكثير منهم من الشباب الذين عاشوا معظم حياتهم في الولايات المتحدة. لكنها تكلف $680 فقط للتقدم بطلب للحصول عليها العمل المؤجل للقادمين في مرحلة الطفولة، حاجزًا كبيرًا يقف في طريق العائلات التي تعمل بجد مثل أسرة هونغ.

دائرة الدعم

عندما جاء جو لأول مرة إلى Mission Asset Fund ، كان يبحث عن طريقة لبناء رصيده الآن بعد أن أصبح تطبيق DACA تمت الموافقة عليه ، والوصول إلى التعليم المالي الذي يحتاجه للنجاح. خلال برنامج دائرة الإقراض ، اكتسب جو المهارات المالية والمال والائتمان الذي يحتاجه.

"قررت التقدم لبرنامج Lending Circles مع خمسة طلاب آخرين غير مسجلين. لقد منحتني دائرة الإقراض فرصة لفهم أفضل للائتمان وبرامج القروض والتمويل بشكل عام ".

حصل Ju على DACA وتفويض العمل ورخصة القيادة. الآن ، بدأ جو في وضع خطط للمستقبل. لم يعد يشعر بوصمة العار والضغط الناجم عن كونه غير موثق ، ويريد التأكد من عدم شعور أي شخص بهذه الطريقة أيضًا. بعد أن أنهى دراساته العليا في ولاية سان فرانسيسكو ، يخطط للعمل على جعل مجتمعات المهاجرين أكثر صحة وسعادة من خلال الخدمة العامة.

هذا حلم مدفوع بإعجابه بوالدته. "والدتي هي أعز أصدقائي ، ومرشدي ، وقدوتي. في يوم من الأيام ، أريد أن أكون مثل والدتي ، وأن أصبح مجازفًا أكثر ، وأعمل بجد ، ولا أتخلى عن حلمي أبدًا ".

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

California DREAMing: DACA and the making of an American dream

MAF member, Ju Hong, talks about Mr. Hyphen and the American Dream.

ju Blog

 

Ju Hong is a man of few limitations. He is a research assistant with Harvard University, on the National UnDACAmented Research Project (NURP), a coordinator at the Men’s Center on the Laney College Campus, a graduate student at San Francisco State University and newly crowned Mr. Hyphen.

Ju is the ideal of the American Dream, Ju is undocumented. He came to the United States from South Korea when he was younger with his mother who wanted a better life for her children.

“My mother works two jobs at restaurant, twelve hours a day, seven days a week, and never had a vacation ever since she arrived to this country. She is tough,” says Ju.

As an undocumented student, Ju was unable to get a job, access financial aid, and get a driver’s license. Ju took his mother’s example and decided he was going to work as hard as he could to make her proud. That’s when Ju heard about a contest hosted by Hyphen Magazine. With this contest, he saw a chance to bring visibility to the lives of undocumented immigrant populations.

BlpNRg1CUAAXspFCreating Visibility

“Hyphen magazine was a great avenue to highlight a critical immigration issue. One out of seven Korean immigrants are undocumented. Asians are now the largest group of new immigrants in this country. The AAPI community cannot ignore this issue. In fact, the AAPI community should engage in the conversation and join in efforts to push for a fair and humane comprehensive immigration reform.”

Of the 11 million undocumented people in the United States, 1.3 million are Asian, many of whom are youth who have lived most of their lives in the United States. But it costs $680 just to apply for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals, a substantial barrier standing in the way of for hardworking families like Hong’s.

A Circle of Support

When Ju first came to Mission Asset Fund he was looking for a way to build his credit now that his DACA application was approved, and access the financial education he needed to succeed. During the Lending Circle program Ju gained the financial skills, money, and credit he needed.

“I decided to apply for the Lending Circles program with five other undocumented students. The Lending Circle has given me an opportunity to better understand credit, loan programs, and finance in general.”

Ju received DACA, his work authorization and driver’s license. Now, Ju has started making plans for the future. He no longer feels the stigma and pressure of being undocumented, and he wants to make sure that no one has to feel that way either. After he finishes his graduate studies at San Francisco State, he plans on working to make immigrant communities healthier and happier through public service.

This is a dream that is driven by his admiration for his mother. “My mother is my best friend, my mentor, and my role model. One day, I want to be like my mother, becoming more of a risk taker, hard-worker, and never giving up on a dream.”


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.