博尼。自给自足的故事

今天,波尼在谈到他在美国的生活时,充满了谦逊的自信。在波尼在美国生活的五年里,他已经为自己建立了财务安全。他用实力和智慧驾驭了陌生的环境和金融体系。

波尼的故事实际上是一个独立和自给自足的故事--这是移民社区的标志。当他与我们分享他的旅程和见解时,他说。

"有空间来思考这些事情是件好事。我不经常有时间反思我的旅程。"

波尼就在墨西哥普埃布拉市外长大。

博尼的家庭属于阿兹特克土著背景,所以他从小就讲自己的母语 纳瓦特尔语而不是西班牙语。他与母亲、父亲和四个兄弟生活在一个家庭中。

他的家庭并不富裕,而且他们相信 "你所拥有的就是你的"。

"在墨西哥,如果你不富裕,你会把贷款看作是把自己挖到一个洞里。"

信用 对波尼来说是一个陌生的概念。据波尼说,在墨西哥。 信用 只有富裕的社区或有大规模业务的企业主才会使用。而且,墨西哥的许多金融机构让人感觉不是很可靠或值得信赖,所以波尼的家人一般都远离这些机构。当Boni在墨西哥生活时,他听说了当地社区成员和当地银行工作人员之间的一个不幸事件。一些社区成员在该银行开设了储蓄账户,并将他们的收入存入该账户。几周后,他们的钱就不在那里了,而且事实证明,分行经理对解决这个问题毫无帮助。

27岁时,波尼移居美国,寻找工作并建立自己的经济保障。

"你经常听到这个国家有更多的机会,所以你开始考虑如何能到这里来,改善你的生活。"

在美国,Boni很快意识到,信贷以及成为金融主流的一部分,对每个人来说都是必要的。当他刚到加州时,波尼关注的是基本的问题。他打算如何开始赚取收入?他将住在哪里?他如何保证自己的饮食?

你来到这里,你没有钱,所以你最初并不担心信用问题。在到达美国的第一天,你就会担心你要吃什么,住什么,穿什么。"


在他找到住房和工作后,对信用记录的需求开始悄悄进入波尼的生活。凭借他在改造方面的技能,波尼很容易在建筑业找到工作。他是一个独立的承包商,随着他的项目规模的扩大,他需要从设备租赁公司租用更多的产品。但为了租用设备,他必须显示出良好的信用记录。他是在被一家设备租赁公司拒之门外之后才发现这一要求的。

波尼可以选择让朋友帮助他租赁设备,但他希望对租赁过程拥有所有权。他不想给别人造成负担,也不想迁就他们的时间表。现在是他投资建立自己信用的时候了。

波尼想建立自己的信用,以便建立自己的独立。

在成长的过程中,我的口头禅是 "你所拥有的就是你的"。 波尼本能地知道,他不想通过积累债务来建立信用。

在波尼的社区,分期付款购买家用物品是建立信用的一种流行方式。一些公司的代表会在社区里挨家挨户地推销家用物品。社区成员可以分期付款购买这些物品,每个月的付款都会报告给信用局。

他对这种方法持怀疑态度,有几个原因。首先,该公司的分期付款计划伴随着高利率。第二,该公司没有提供真正的信贷教育,所以人们仍然对信贷如何运作一无所知。第三,考虑到博尼在成长过程中的心态,即 "我是一个人"。'你所拥有的就是你的'。 他的直觉使他不再通过举债来建立信用。

在一次前往美国的旅行中 墨西哥总领馆 波尼在圣何塞参加了一个关于Lending Circles项目的讲座。他有兴趣了解更多关于该计划的信息,所以他在领事馆的MAF金融教育办公室停下来,与MAF的金融教练Diana Adame交谈。起初,博尼对Lending Circles项目持怀疑态度,但随着他问的问题越来越多,博尼最终对这个想法产生了兴趣。当他意识到Lending Circles项目和MAF项目之间的相似之处时,他对该项目变得特别容易接受了。 Tandas - 社会借贷实践的名称 在墨西哥。突然间,建立信用的想法并不感到那么陌生。通过零利率、建立信用的小额贷款,波尼可以建立自己的信用,避免债务。

MAF于2016年开始在圣何塞和旧金山的墨西哥领事馆提供金融赋权服务。在圣何塞,MAF的财务教练Diana Adame领导着 文塔尼拉金融公司(Ventanilla Financiera 它的字面意思是 "金融赋权窗口"。在 文塔尼利亚Diana的典型一天包括就信贷、储蓄和预算等广泛的主题进行小型演讲,并在客户的财务生活中提供个性化的支持。

当戴安娜回顾她在领事馆的工作时,她想到了她的家人。

"我希望我的父母在刚到美国时能有机会去参加Ventanilla Financiera。他们会节省大量的金钱、时间和精力。有这么多的资源,有时我们在日常生活中没有意识到。直到我们去到社区的一些地方,我们才了解到这些资源和服务。这项工作意味着我帮助某人设定一个目标,并知道这个目标是他们可以实现的。它不再只是一个梦想。戴安娜说。

在参加了两次Lending Circles之后,博尼能够建立他的信用记录并为他的建筑工作租赁设备。

波尼最近向戴安娜介绍了他的信用评分:令人难以置信的699分!他最近还获得了第一张信用卡的批准。他最近还获得了他的第一张信用卡的批准。波尼想继续提高他的信用分数,这样他就可以最终贷款并开办自己的建筑公司。他是一个非常独立的人,他喜欢最终成为自己的老板的想法。

我们问博尼,他想给那些刚刚开始在这个国家建立自己生活的人什么建议,这是他想分享的。

"尽可能早地开始建立你的信用。很多时候,直到我们需要信用时,我们才意识到建立信用的重要性,而这可能会使它变得更加困难。"

他列举了一些服务的重要性,如 文塔尼拉金融公司(Ventanilla Financiera 在墨西哥领事馆。领事馆主要为刚刚抵达该国的人服务,因此这可能是一个向新近抵达的移民介绍安全和可靠的信用建设产品的好机会。

博尼说:"在美国,信贷让你有能力建立一些东西,可以帮助你建立你的未来。

最初,波尼搬到美国的目的是为了攒钱,然后搬回墨西哥老家和家人在一起。然而,随着他继续在这个国家建立自己的未来,波尼不断将这个日期往后推。他喜欢在这个国家工作,并珍惜他在短短几年内为自己建立的独立性。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Boni: A Story of Self-Sufficiency

Today, Boni speaks about his life in the U.S. with a humble confidence. In the five years that Boni has lived in the country, he has built financial security for himself. He has navigated unfamiliar surroundings and financial systems with strength and savviness.

Boni’s story is really a story of independence and self-sufficiency — a trademark of immigrant communities. As he shares his journey and insights with us, he says:

“It’s nice to have the space to think about these things. I don’t often have the time to reflect on my journey.”

Boni grew up just outside of Puebla, Mexico.

Boni’s family belonged to an indigenous Aztec background, so he grew up speaking his native language Nahuatl, instead of Spanish. He lived in a household with his mother, father, and four brothers.

His family was not wealthy, and they believed in the idea that “what you have is what is yours.”

“In Mexico, if you’re not wealthy, you see loans as digging yourself into a hole.”

Credit was a foreign concept for Boni. According to Boni, in Mexico, credit was only used by wealthy communities or business owners with large scale operations. Also, many financial institutions in Mexico didn’t feel very reliable or trustworthy, so Boni’s family generally stayed away from these institutions. When Boni was living in Mexico, he had heard about an unfortunate incident between local community members and staff at a local bank. A few community members had opened up savings accounts with the bank and deposited their earnings in the account. A few weeks later, their money was no longer there, and the branch manager proved to be unhelpful in resolving the issue.

At age 27, Boni moved to the U.S. to find employment and build his financial security.

“You often hear that there are more opportunities in this country, so you start to think about how you can get here and improve your life.”

In the U.S., Boni quickly realized that credit, and being part of the financial mainstream, is necessary for everyone. When he first arrived in California, Boni was focused on the basics. How was he going to start earning his income? Where would he live? How would he secure his meals?

You come here, and you don’t have money, so you don’t worry about credit initially. On day one of arriving to the U.S, you worry about what you’re going to eat, live, and wear.”


After he found housing and employment, the need for a credit history began to creep into Boni’s life. With his skill set in remodeling, Boni easily found work in construction. He was an independent contractor, and as the scope of his projects increased in scale, he needed to rent more products from equipment leasing companies. But in order to rent the equipment, he had to show a positive credit history. He only found out about this requirement after he was turned away from an equipment leasing company.

Boni had the option of enlisting the help of friends to rent the equipment on his behalf, but he wanted ownership over the rental process. He didn’t want to burden others or accommodate to their schedules. It was time for him to invest in building his credit.

Boni wanted to build his credit so he could build his independence.

Having grown up with the mantra that “what you have is what is yours,” Boni instinctively knew that he did not want to build credit by accumulating debt.

In Boni’s neighborhood, purchasing household items on installment was a popular way to build credit. Representatives from a number of companies would go door-to-door in the community and sell household items. Community members could buy the items on installment, and each month’s payment would be reported to the credit bureaus.

He was skeptical of this method for a few reasons. First, the company’s installment payment plan came with high interest rates. Second, the company offered no real education around credit, so folks were still left in the dark about how credit worked. Third, given that Boni grew up with the mentality that ‘‘what you have is what is yours,’ his intuition led him away from building credit by taking on debt.

During a trip to the Consulate General of Mexico in San Jose for his identification documents, Boni attended a presentation on the Lending Circles program. He was interested in learning more about the program, so he stopped by MAF’s financial education office at the Consulate to speak with Diana Adame, MAF’s Financial Coach. At first, Boni was skeptical of the Lending Circles program, but as he asked more questions, Boni eventually warmed up to the idea. He became especially receptive to the program when he realized the similarities between Lending Circles and Tandas — the name for the social lending practice in Mexico. Suddenly, the idea of building credit didn’t feel so unfamiliar. With a zero-interest, credit-building, small dollar loan, Boni could build his credit and avoid debt.

MAF began offering financial empowerment services at the Mexican Consulate in San Jose and San Francisco in 2016. In San Jose, MAF’s Financial Coach, Diana Adame, leads the Ventanilla Financiera which literally translates to “financial empowerment window.” At the Ventanilla, Mexican nationals are able to get the support to start building their financial lives in the U.S. A typical day for Diana includes conducting mini presentations on a wide range of topics like credit, savings, and budgeting and offering personalized support to clients as they navigate their financial lives.

When Diana reflects on her work at the consulate, she thinks about her family.

“I wish my parents would have had the opportunity to go to a Ventanilla Financiera when they just arrived in the US. They would have saved a lot of money, time, and energy. There are so many resources that sometimes we are not aware in our day to day life. It is not until we go to places in our community where we learn about those resources and services. This work means I help someone set a goal and know that it is within their reach. It is no longer just a dream,says Diana.

After participating in two Lending Circles, Boni was able to build his credit history and rent equipment for his construction work.

Boni recently updated Diana about his credit score: an incredible 699! He also recently got approved for his first credit card. Boni wants to continue building his credit score so he can eventually take out a loan and start his own construction company. Being the fiercely independent person he is, he loves the idea of eventually being his own boss.

We asked Boni what advice he’d like to give to those who are just starting to build their lives in this country, and this is what he wanted to share:

“Start building your credit as early as possible. Oftentimes, it’s not until we need credit that we realize the importance of building credit, and this can make it more difficult.”

He cites the importance of services like the Ventanilla Financiera at the Mexican Consulate. The consulate primarily caters to folks who have just arrived in the country, so this can be a great opportunity to introduce recently arrived immigrants to safe and reliable credit-building products.

In the U.S., credit gives you the ability to build something that can help you build your future,” Boni says.

Originally, Boni moved to the United States with the intention of saving money and moving back home to Mexico to be with his family. However, as he continues to build his future in this country, Boni keeps pushing this date back. He enjoys working in this country, and he cherishes the independence he has built for himself in just a few short years.

Partner Success Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.