تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

Aqui: Lending Circles مع الفلبينيين في لوس أنجلوس


لم يستسلم أكوي. اتصلت بجوز كل بضعة أشهر لمعرفة ما إذا كان مستعدًا بعد. الآن منظمتها PWC تقدم مجموعة MAF الكاملة من برامج القروض الاجتماعية.

على الرغم من أن الفلبينيين هم أكبر عدد من الأمريكيين الآسيويين في كاليفورنيا ، لم يكن هناك أحد آخر يعالج قضايا العمال الفلبينيين ذوي الأجور المنخفضة. لهذا مركز العمال الفلبيني يقول "أكويلينا سوريانو فيرسوزا" ، المدير التنفيذي لمركز العمال الفلبيني.

تذهب أكوي إلى العمل كل صباح لأنها تزدهر من خلال التحولات.

تحب رؤية محفوظة عمال محليون أن يصبحوا قادة ودعاة واثقين. كما لاحظت مدى صعوبة عملهم لتحسين أوضاعهم المالية. تقول ، "إذا كنت مهاجرًا في كاليفورنيا ، يمكنك الحصول على حساب مصرفي ولكن القرض شيء لا يمكنك القيام به. عليك أن تمر عبر شبكات غير رسمية لا يمكن الاعتماد عليها دائمًا ". في غياب العائلة والأصدقاء القريبين للمساعدة ، تواجه عاملات المنازل مشاكل عندما تضرب الأزمة: "يعمل أعضاؤنا كمقدمي رعاية مقيمين ويكسبون أقل من الحد الأدنى للأجور. عندما يموت العميل ، يكون بدون عمل أو مكان للإقامة ، وفي معظم الأوقات لا يكون لديه أي مدخرات ".

أدركت أكوي أنه بدون الوصول إلى ائتمان ميسور التكلفة ، فإن عملائها كانوا مصاريف غير متوقعة بعيدًا عن الأزمة المالية ، لذلك اتصلت بجوز لاقتراح شراكة. على الرغم من أن جوزيه كان مهتمًا ، في ذلك الوقت ، ركز Mission Asset Fund على التوسع في منطقة الخليج. لم يستسلم أكوي. اتصلت بجوز كل بضعة أشهر لمعرفة ما إذا كان مستعدًا بعد.

بعد حوالي عام ، عندما كان الوقت مناسبًا ، انضمت المنظمتان معًا لجلب Lending Circles إلى لوس أنجلوس. بمساعدة من تحدي LA2050، توسعت الشراكة. تقدم PWC الآن مجموعة كاملة من برامج القروض الاجتماعية لعملائها من ذوي الدخل المنخفض: Lending Circles ، Lending Circles للمواطنة ، Lending Circles للحالمين وقروض الودائع الأمنية.

مكان جديد للعيش فيه

في خريف عام 2013 ، احتفلت PWC بافتتاح متجر جديد مجمع سكني منخفض التكلفة في لوس انجلوس. يحتوي المبنى على 45 وحدة سكنية بحيث يمكن للمستأجرين ذوي الدخل المنخفض أن يستأجروا ما يصل إلى $300 شهريًا ، اعتمادًا على دخلهم وحجم الأسرة. ولكن حتى منح وديعة ضمان يمكن أن يشكل تحديًا - ولهذا السبب تقدم Aqui's الآن برنامج قرض وديعة الضمان. قاموا بتسجيل المستأجرين الأوائل في أوائل عام 2014.

يقول أكوي ، "لقد أنشأ Mission Asset Fund هيكلًا خلفيًا رائعًا وكان سهلاً للغاية. لقد ساعدنا جوزيه في الحصول على أول تمويل لنا من أحد البنوك المحلية ، ونأمل الآن في الحصول على المزيد من التمويل حتى نتمكن من مواصلة توسيع هذا البرنامج ".

في PWC ، يتصل الأعضاء بـ Lending Circles "بالواغان". أحد الأعضاء ، مناع ، هو أحد الناجين من الإتجار بالبشر وقد حوصر في منزل لمدة عامين وأُجبر على النوم على سرير كلب. بمساعدة من PWC و Lending Circles ، تغيرت حياة مناع. بدأت في توفير المال كل شهر وبناء العلاقات.

بالنسبة للعمال المنزليين الفلبينيين في لوس أنجلوس ، يمكن أن تؤدي هذه الأنواع من العلاقات إلى وظائف جديدة. عندما تجتمع مجموعة Lending Circles ، يشارك الأعضاء نضالاتهم ونجاحاتهم. يقول أكوي ، "في Paluwagan ، سيقول أحدهم إنه يبحث عن وظيفة. هل تعلم ماذا يحدث؟ يجد أحد الأعضاء الآخرين واحدًا لهم ". شاهد المزيد هنا:

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

Aqui: Lending Circles with filipinos in L.A.


Aqui didn’t give up. She called Jose every few months to see if he was ready yet. Now her organization PWC offers MAF’s full suite of social loan programs.

“Even though Filipinos are the largest Asian American population in California, no one else was addressing the issues of low-wage Pilipino workers. That’s why Pilipino Worker’s Center was formed,” says Aquilina Soriano-Versoza, the Executive Director of Pilipino Worker’s Center.

Aqui goes to work each morning because she thrives on transformations.

She loves seeing reserved domestic workers become confident leaders and advocates. She also noticed how hard they work to improve their finances. She says, “If you are an immigrant in California, you can get a bank account but a loan is something you cannot do. You have to go through informal networks that aren’t always reliable.” Without family and friends nearby to help, domestic workers are in trouble when crisis strikes: “Our members work as live-in caregivers making less than minimum wage. When a client passes away, they are without work or a place to stay and most times don’t have any savings.”

Aqui recognized that without access to affordable credit her clients were one unexpected expense away from financial crisis, so she called Jose to propose a partnership. Although Jose was interested, at the time, Mission Asset Fund was focused on expanding in the Bay Area. Aqui didn’t give up. She called Jose every few months to see if he was ready yet.

About a year later, when the time was right, the two organizations joined together to bring Lending Circles to Los Angeles. With the help of the LA2050 challenge, the partnership expanded. PWC now offers a full suite of social loan programs to their low-income clients: Lending Circles, Lending Circles for Citizenship, Lending Circles for Dreamers and Security Deposit Loans.

A new place to live

In the fall of 2013, PWC celebrated the opening of a new low-cost housing complex in Los Angeles. The building has 45 residential units so that low income tenants can rent for as low as $300 a month, depending on their income and family size. But even affording a security deposit can pose a challenge – that’s why Aqui’s now offering the Security Deposit Loan program. They enrolled their first tenants in early 2014.

Aqui says, “Mission Asset Fund created an incredible back structure and it was so easy. Jose has helped us get our first funding with a local bank and now we’re hoping to get more funding so we can keep expanding this program.”

At PWC, members call Lending Circles “Paluwagan”. One member, Manna, is a trafficking survivor who was trapped in a house for two years and was forced to sleep on a dog bed. With help from PWC and Lending Circles, Manna’s life was transformed. She started saving money every month and building relationships.

For Filipino domestic workers in Los Angeles, those kinds of relationships can lead to new jobs. When the Lending Circles group comes together, members share their struggles and successes. Aqui says, “In Paluwagan, someone will say they are looking for a job. You know what happens? One of the other members finds one for them.” Watch more here:

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.