تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

هذه هي المرونة

التقرير السنوي 2018

المرونة هي ما يجعلنا ننهض عندما نسقط. لهذا السبب نسافر مسافات طويلة بحثًا عن حياة أفضل ، بغض النظر عن المخاطر. عندما بدأنا Lending Circles ، قال البعض: "إنها لن تنجح. ستفشل. " لكننا واصلنا المضي قدمًا. ذلك لأن برنامجنا يرتكز على ما هو أكثر أهمية: الأسرة والمجتمع والعلاقات التي تربطنا ببعضنا البعض.

في السنوات العشر الماضية ، قمنا بتوسيع نطاق Lending Circles في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، لكننا أيضًا غيرنا المحادثة حول الأمور المهمة في الحياة المالية للناس. ونحن دليل على أنه يمكنك بناء وتوسيع نطاق المنتجات المالية مع الحفاظ على الجذور في المجتمع ، وفية لمهمتك ، ومرنة في التسليم الخاص بك. إنها الطريقة التي نرتقي بها إلى اللوحة لحماية الآلاف من الحالمين. وفي هذا العام ، نحن بصدد المضي قدمًا من خلال الانتقال إلى عالم الجوّال.

تطبيق MyMAF ليس مجرد تطبيق. هذا واحد يستخدم أفضل ما في التمويل والتكنولوجيا لصالح الناس. يتعلق هذا الأمر بكونك وثيق الصلة بالثقافة وسد فجوة التكنولوجيا. والأهم من ذلك ، يتعلق الأمر بإظهار أهمية لعملائنا - وهذا هو سر نجاحنا.

- خوسيه كوينونيز

كيف نهضنا

في عام 2018 ، علمنا أننا لا نستطيع العمل وفقًا لقواعد اللعبة المعتادة. لقد ابتكرنا وأطلقنا خمسة برامج وخدمات جديدة ، وقمنا بتوسيع برنامجين آخرين ، ووضعنا الأساس لمواصلة إنشاء حلول جديدة.

التكيف والاستجابة

مع مواجهة DACA لمستقبل ضعيف ، علمنا أنه يتعين علينا تغيير المسار لمساعدة أعضاء المجتمع في الحصول على الإغاثة الإيجابية. لقد ضاعفنا التزامنا تجاه الحالمين ومجتمعات المهاجرين وأطلقنا برنامج قروض الهجرة بدون فائدة ، والذي يغطي تكلفة أن تصبح مواطنًا ، والحصول على البطاقة الخضراء ، وأكثر من ذلك. 

رفع أصواتنا

في خضم هجوم من السياسات الفيدرالية المعادية للمهاجرين والكراهية ، قاومنا. بينما فصلت الإدارة الحالية العائلات على الحدود واقترحت معايير شائنة للحصول على تأشيرة أو بطاقة خضراء ، دافعنا عن الحرية والكرامة والاحترام لمجتمعاتنا. ونحن فقط في البداية.

رفع القصص التي يجب سردها

تحدثنا إلى العملاء والشركاء في جميع أنحاء البلاد. احتفلنا بانتصاراتهم وشاركنا في الحزن. وقمنا بتوفير منصة لهم لسرد قصصهم. كما عبرت روزا الحاصلة على منحة DACA بشكل جميل للغاية ، "إن أقوى طريقة لإيصال رسالتي هي أن أظهر للناس من أنا."

تكوين شراكات جديدة


نحن نؤمن بقوة الشراكة لتحقيق الأهداف الطموحة. لقد عملنا مع أكثر من 65 منظمة عالية التأثير لجلب Lending Circles لمجتمعاتهم. في عام 2018 ، شعرنا بسعادة غامرة للترحيب بـ Canal Alliance of Marin County ، CA في شبكتنا الوطنية لموفري Lending Circles. نحن نعلم أننا لسنا وحدنا في هذه المعركة.

وقد أطلقنا تطبيقًا للجوال: MYMAF

يمنح MyMAF العملاء الاستقلال لتوجيه رحلتهم المالية. يقرر العملاء من أين يريدون البدء ، سواء كان ذلك للتعرف على الائتمان أو مشاهدة مقطع فيديو حول استكشاف خيارات الاستثمار الخاصة بهم. يمكن للعملاء الاختيار من بين أكثر من 70 عنصر عمل للعمل عليها ، وتزويد العملاء بهيكل لإنشاء خطة عمل خاصة بهم. يمكّن التطبيق العملاء من وضع جدول الأعمال بناءً على ما هو أكثر صلة بهم ويدعمهم بالموارد والنصائح والدوافع للوصول إلى هدفهم.

  • أدوات مالية قوية

    يدعم MyMAF عملاء برنامج MAF وعملاء التدريب المالي بأداة أخرى لمساعدتهم على تحقيق أهدافهم المالية!

  • حدث إطلاق MyMAF

    لقد كشفنا رسميًا عن MyMAF في حفل إطلاق يوم 7 ديسمبر! احتفلت MAF بهذا الإنجاز في مساحة SPUR في وسط مدينة سان فرانسيسكو مع أعضاء المجتمع وأصدقائنا والممولين.

  • مدرب افتراضي في متناول يدك

    يوفر MyMAF للمستخدمين مدربًا ماليًا افتراضيًا في متناول أيديهم ويمنحهم التحكم في رحلتهم المالية.

    كيف تحولنا

    لطالما كانت التكنولوجيا والبحث جزءًا أساسيًا من عمل ماف. لكننا أدركنا أننا بحاجة إلى إعادة تنظيم أنفسنا لتسخير القوة التحويلية للتكنولوجيا بشكل كامل لخدمة عملائنا بشكل أفضل على نطاق واسع. نتيجة لذلك ، أنشأنا مختبر ماف: فريق البحث والتطوير الذي يهدف إلى بناء منتجات وبرامج أفضل لتلبية احتياجات المجتمعات التي نخدمها.

    مختبر ماف

    نحن نجتاز أفضل ما في العالمين غير الربحيين والتكنولوجيا المالية. نحن نستفيد من أفضل الممارسات في أبحاث المستخدم والتفكير التصميمي والتطوير السريع لإنشاء دورة بحث وتطوير فعالة. نحن نبحث لتقييم نقاط القوة ، وفهم الاحتياجات ، ثم نبني المنتجات للاستفادة من نقاط القوة هذه لتلبية تلك الاحتياجات. نحن نصنع منتجات للأشخاص الذين غالبًا ما يتم استبعادهم من التطورات التقنية والأسواق المالية الرسمية.

    مختبر ماف هو قمة نقاط القوة في ماف كمنظمة خدمة مباشرة غير ربحية ، ومزود خدمات مالية ، ومنظمة تقنية تعتمد على البيانات ، وقوة للابتكار الاجتماعي.

    نتحقق من تأثيرنا

    في 2018:

    • 36 ألف +  الأشخاص الذين شاركوا في برامج ماف

    • 2,819 تقديم قروض بدون فوائد

    • 2,744 تم إصدار منح المساعدة لرسوم DACA

    2018 برامج تسليط الضوء

    حتي اليوم:

    • 68 ألف +  الأشخاص الذين شاركوا في برامج ماف

    • 10,636 تقديم قروض بدون فوائد

    • 7,932 تم إصدار منح المساعدة لرسوم DACA

    10 سنوات من البرامج في دائرة الضوء

    عام المرونة المالية

    تفخر ماف بالإعلان عن عام آخر من الدعم القوي من مجتمع الممولين المذهل لدينا ، مما يمكننا من خدمة عملاء أكثر من ذي قبل. بينما نتطلع إلى تنمية برامجنا وتوسيع نطاقها ، نظل ملتزمين بالحكمة المالية لضمان الاستدامة والبرامج عالية الجودة لكل مجتمع نخدمه.

    اللمحة المالية لعام 2018

    دعم في كل مكان

    في العام الماضي ، حققنا أداءً قويًا عبر مصادر دخلنا الرئيسية. مع وجود العديد من الممولين الذين يقدمون منحًا متعددة السنوات ، فإننا نعمل على تعميق تأثيرنا ومواصلة عملنا لسنوات قادمة.

    الاستثمار في المجتمعات

    نواصل الاستثمار في بناء البرامج التي تلبي الاحتياجات المالية لمجتمعاتنا. يتضمن البحث والتطوير ، لإيجاد حلول قابلة للتطوير لتعزيز الشمول المالي.

    لمحة مالية لمدة 10 سنوات

    $27M تم رفعه في 10 سنوات

    على مدى السنوات العشر الماضية ، استثمر مؤيدونا ما يقرب من $30M في بناء المرونة وتحسين المستقبل المالي لمجتمعاتنا.

    خلق منتجات مالية فعالة

    لقد أنشأنا منتجات لمساعدة المجتمعات على بناء الائتمان ، ودفع تكاليف طلبات الهجرة ، وتأمين مواردها المالية. من خلال كل هذا ، ظل معدل التخلف عن السداد لدينا أقل بكثير من متوسط الصناعة.

    عقد واحد من Lending Circles

    ما هي أفضل طريقة للاحتفال بالذكرى العاشرة لتأسيسنا من التفكير في نقاط القوة في المجتمعات التي نعمل معها؟ يتميز "عقد واحد من Lending Circles" بعشر رؤى اكتسبناها من خلال عشر سنوات من الإقراض الاجتماعي.

    • 64% تحسين الائتمان

      64% من العملاء يحسنون درجة الائتمان الخاصة بهم خلال دائرة الإقراض الأولى. بناء الائتمان هو السبب الأول الذي يجعل العملاء ينضمون إلى Lending Circles. ويستطيع معظمهم القيام بذلك خلال البرنامج عن طريق زيادة درجة الائتمان الخاصة بهم أو إنشاء واحدة لأول مرة.

    • 8% الأصول المشتراة

      حصل 8% من العملاء على قروض عقارية أو قروض سيارات أثناء مشاركتهم في أول دائرة إقراض. غالبًا ما ينضم العملاء إلى Lending Circles للعمل من أجل تحقيق أهداف مالية ، مثل شراء منزل أو سيارة لعائلاتهم. يشتري البعض هذه الأصول خلال برنامج 6-12 شهرًا ، ويقوم آخرون بذلك بعد إكمال قرضهم الأول مع MAF.

    • 42% سهم التمويل

      42% من العملاء يعتمدون مالياً على أشخاص خارج أسرهم. إنهم يقرضون الأموال أو يقدمونها للعائلة والأصدقاء ، ويستلمونها عينيًا. يقول العديد من العملاء إنهم يستفيدون من العلاقات ورأس المال الاجتماعي لتأمين تدفقهم النقدي وحياتهم المالية.

    • 31% من رواد الأعمال

      31% من العملاء هم رواد أعمال. من العربات الجانبية للعمل إلى العمل الحر إلى امتلاك شركة نانوية - يجد العملاء طرقًا إبداعية لاستثمار مهاراتهم ومواهبهم. حتى أن البعض ينضم إلى Lending Circles للتواصل وبناء قاعدة عملاء لأعمالهم.

    • 57% احفظ بطريقة خلاقة

      57% من العملاء الذين ليس لديهم حساب توفير لا يزالون يوفرون المال. لا يمكن إنكار أن بعض المنتجات المالية تشجع المستهلكين على الادخار. ولكن حتى بدون حساب توفير ، يستخدم العملاء منتجات أخرى وحتى حيوانات التاندا غير الرسمية لتخصيص الأموال لحالات الطوارئ والأهداف المالية طويلة الأجل.

      الاحتفال بمرور 10 سنوات

      في أكتوبر 2008 ، شكلنا أول دائرة إقراض لدينا. في ديسمبر 2018 ، احتفلنا بعيد ميلاد MAF العاشر بأناقة! Hors d'oeuvres والكوكتيلات الحرفية و 200 من أقرب أصدقائنا وحلفائنا.

      ماف "شيروز"

      تشارك أليسيا رحلتها المذهلة - من بيع تاماليس في مطبخها إلى بيع تاماليس في ملعب ووريورز.

      هتاف 10 سنوات!

      يترابط الحاضرون على مشروبات MAF ، مثل Gin & Tanda.

      وسنواصل الصمود في عام 2019

      إذا علمتنا عشر سنوات أي شيء ، فنحن بحاجة لمواصلة القتال. يتعلق الأمر بالانضمام معًا لبناء ابتكارات خارقة تحدث تغييرًا حقيقيًا في المجتمعات التي نخدمها. تحتاج المجتمعات المعرضة لنظام الهجرة المكسور في بلادنا إلى ابتكارات لترسيخ مكانتها بسهولة أكبر. تحتاج المجتمعات المعرضة لأحدث الاحتيال الاقتصادي إلى وصول أفضل إلى المنتجات المالية منخفضة التكلفة. تحتاج المجتمعات المستهدفة ذات التاريخ الطويل من العنصرية المؤسسية إلى المزيد من الفرص لتأمين الثروة وبناءها. دعونا لا نسمح لـ Silicon Valley بتقديم تطورات جذرية لـ 1% فقط. بدلاً من ذلك ، دعنا ننضم معًا للتعرف على احتياجات مجتمعاتنا ، ونضع أفضل أفكارنا ومواردنا قدمًا لإحداث تغيير حقيقي في 99%.

      المزيد من الأشياء المدهشة تحدث:

      • كن مبتكرًا. تأتي الحلول الأكثر إلهامًا من احتضان جمال وتعقيد حالة الإنسان. في شهر أبريل من هذا العام ، نستضيف أ 2019 قمة ماف لا مثيل لها. انضم إلى زملائك في المنظمات غير الربحية والتكنولوجيا والتمويل والقطاع الاجتماعي للتلقيح المتبادل من أجل التغيير الاجتماعي.

      • صعد الأمر بكتاب جديد. الائتمان حيث أنه مستحق يمزج درسًا تاريخيًا حول العدالة المالية مع تحليل نماذج بناء الائتمان الخاصة بـ MAF. ستحصل على قصة ماف وتتعرف على إطار عمل جديد: المواطنة المالية. من منا لا يريد المشاركة في نظام مالي يعزز الانتماء الاجتماعي والكرامة والاحترام؟

      • اتبع تحدي MyMAF. هذا العام ، سنفتح تحديًا لما يصل إلى 10 منظمات غير ربحية في جميع أنحاء البلاد للحصول على فرصة للفوز بالوصول المبكر إلى نسخة مخصصة من MyMAF. ترقبوا التحديثات حول كيفية المشاركة في التحدي أو دعمه.

This is Resilience

2018 ANNUAL REPORT

Resilience is what makes us get up when we fall. It’s why we travel long distances in search of a better life, no matter the perils. When we started Lending Circles, some said: “It won’t work. You’ll fail.” But we kept moving forward. That’s because our program is grounded in what matters most: family, community, and the relationships that bind us with one another.

In the last ten years, we scaled Lending Circles throughout the country, but we also changed the conversation about what matters in people’s financial lives. And we are proof that you can build and scale financial products while still staying rooted in community, true to your mission, and agile in your delivery. It’s how we step up to the plate to protect thousands of Dreamers. And this year, we are stepping up by going mobile.

MyMAF app is not just any app. This one uses the best of finance and technology for the good of the people. This one is about being culturally relevant and bridging the technology gap. More importantly, it’s about showing our clients that they matter - and that’s the secret of our success.

-Jose Quinonez

How We Rose Up

In 2018, we knew we couldn’t operate by the usual playbook. We innovated, launched five new programs and services, expanded two more, and laid the foundation to keep on creating new solutions.

ADAPTING & RESPONDING

With DACA facing a tenuous future, we knew we had to change course to help community members obtain affirmative relief. We doubled down on our commitment to Dreamers and immigrant communities and launched a zero-interest immigration loan program, covering the cost of becoming a citizen, obtaining a green card, and more. 

RAISING OUR VOICES

Amidst an onslaught of anti-immigrant and hateful federal policies, we fought back. While the current administration separated families at the border and proposed outrageous standards to receive a visa or a green card, we advocated for the freedom, dignity, and respect of our communities. And we are only getting started.

UPLIFTING STORIES THAT MUST BE TOLD

We talked to clients and partners across the country. We celebrated their triumphs and shared in their heartbreaks. And we provided a platform for them to tell their stories. As DACA scholarship recipient Rosa put it so beautifully, “The most powerful way to convey my message is to show people who I am.”

FORMING NEW PARTNERSHIPS


We believe in the power of partnership to achieve ambitious goals. We’ve worked with 65+ high-impact organizations to bring Lending Circles to their communities. In 2018, we were thrilled to welcome Canal Alliance of Marin County, CA into our national network of Lending Circles providers. We know we aren’t alone in this fight.

AND, WE LAUNCHED A MOBILE APP: MYMAF

MyMAF gives clients autonomy to direct their financial journey. Clients decide where they want to begin, whether it’s learning about credit or watching a video about exploring their investment options. Clients can choose from 70+ action items to work towards, providing clients with a structure to create their own action plan. The app empowers clients to set the agenda based on what is most relevant to them and supports them with resources, tips, and motivation to get to their goal.

  • Mighty Financial Tools

    MyMAF supports MAF’s program clients and financial coaching clients with another tool to help them achieve their financial goals!

  • MyMAF Launch Event

    We officially unveiled MyMAF at a launch party on December 7th! MAF celebrated this milestone at SPUR’s space in downtown San Francisco with members of the community, our friends, and funders.

  • A virtual coach at your fingertips

    MyMAF provides users with a virtual financial coach at their fingertips and gives them control in their financial journey.

    How We Transformed

    Technology and research have always been a core part of MAF’s work. But we realized that we needed to reorganize ourselves to fully harness the transformative power of technology to better serve our clients at scale. As a result, we created the MAF Lab: an R&D team that aims to build better products and programs to meet the needs of the communities we serve.

    The MAF Lab

    We’re bridging the best of the nonprofit and fintech worlds. We’re drawing on best practices in user research, design thinking, and agile development to create a virtuous research and development cycle. We research to assess strengths, understand needs, and then build products to leverage those strengths to meet those needs. We build products for people who are often left out of tech developments and formal financial markets.

    The MAF Lab is the apex of MAF’s strengths as a direct service nonprofit, a financial services provider, a data-driven tech organization, and a force for social innovation.

    We Deliver on Our Impact

    In 2018:

    • 36K+  PEOPLE PARTICIPATED IN MAF PROGRAMS

    • 2,819 ZERO-INTEREST LOANS PROVIDED

    • 2,744 DACA FEE ASSISTANCE GRANTS ISSUED

    2018 Programs Spotlight

    To Date:

    • 68K+  PEOPLE PARTICIPATED IN MAF PROGRAMS

    • 10,636 ZERO-INTEREST LOANS PROVIDED

    • 7,932 DACA FEE ASSISTANCE GRANTS ISSUED

    10 Years Programs Spotlight

    A Year of Financial Resilience

    MAF is proud to report another year of strong support from our amazing funder community, enabling us to serve more clients than before. As we look ahead toward growing and scaling our programs, we remain committed to fiscal prudence to ensure sustainability and high-quality programming for every community we serve.

    2018 Financial Snapshot

    SUPPORT ALL AROUND

    This past year, we had strong performance across our key revenue streams. With several funders providing multi-year grants, we’re deepening our impact and continuing our work for years to come.

    INVESTING IN COMMUNITIES

    We continue to invest in building programs that meet the financial needs of our communities. That includes Research and Development, to create scalable solutions to promote financial inclusion.

    10 Years Financial Snapshot

    $27M RAISED IN 10 YEARS

    Over the past 10 years, our supporters have invested nearly $30M in building resiliency and improving the financial futures of our communities.

    Creating Effective Financial Products

    We’ve created products to help communities build credit, pay for immigration applications, and secure their finances. Through all of this, our default rate has remained much lower than the industry average.

    One Decade of Lending Circles

    What better way to mark our 10-year anniversary than to reflect on strengths in the communities we work with? “One Decade of Lending Circles” features ten insights we’ve gained from ten years of social lending.

    • 64% Improved Credit

      64% of clients improve their credit score during their first Lending Circle. Credit-building is the number one reason clients join Lending Circles. And most are able to do just that during the program by increasing their credit score or establishing one for the first time.

    • 8% Purchased Assets

      8% of clients took mortgages or auto loans while participating in their first Lending Circle. Clients often join Lending Circles to work toward financial goals, such as buying a home or car for their family. Some purchase these assets during the 6-12 month program, and many others do so after completing their first loan with MAF.

    • 42% Share Finances

      42% of clients are financially interdependent with people outside their household. They lend or gift money to family and friends, and receive it back in kind. Many clients say they leverage relationships and social capital to secure their cash flow and financial lives.

    • 31% Are Entrepreneurs

      31% of clients are entrepreneurs. From working side gigs to being self-employed to owning a nanobusiness — clients are finding creative ways to monetize their skills and talents. Some even join Lending Circles to network and build a customer base for their business.

    • 57% Save Creatively

      57% of clients without a savings account still save money. It’s undeniable that certain financial products encourage consumers to save. But even without a savings account, clients are using other products and even informal tandas to set aside money for emergencies and long-term financial goals.

      Celebrating 10 Years

      In October 2008, we formed our first Lending Circle. In December 2018, we celebrated MAF’s 10th birthday with style! Hors d’oeuvres, craft cocktails, and 200 of our closest friends and allies.

      MAF ‘SHEroes’

      Alicia shares her incredible journey — from selling tamales in her kitchen to selling tamales at the Warriors stadium.

      Cheers to 10 years!

      Attendees bond over MAF themed drinks, like the Gin & Tanda.

      And we will continue to stand resilient in 2019

      If ten years has taught us anything, it’s that we need to keep up the fight. It’s about joining together to build breakthrough innovations that bring about real change to the communities we serve. Communities who are vulnerable to our nation’s broken immigration system need innovations to more easily firm up their status. Communities who are vulnerable to the latest economic scam need better access to low-cost financial products. Communities targeted with a long history of institutional racism need more opportunities to secure and build wealth. Let us not allow Silicon Valley to only provide radical advances for the 1%. Instead, let us join together to learn about the needs of our communities, and put our best thinking and resources forward to bring about real change to the 99%.

      More amazing things are happening:

      • Get innovative. The most inspired solutions come from embracing the beauty and complexity of the human condition. This April, we’re hosting a 2019 MAF Summit like no other. Join your colleagues in nonprofits, tech, finance and the social sector to cross-pollinate for social change.

      • Step it up with a new book. Credit Where It’s Due blends a history lesson on financial justice with an analysis of MAF’s own credit-building models. You’ll get the story of MAF and learn about a new framework: financial citizenship. Who wouldn’t want to participate in a financial system that fosters social belonging, dignity, and respect?

      • Follow the MyMAF Challenge. This year, we’ll be opening up a challenge for up to 10 nonprofits across the nation for the chance to win early access to a customized version of MyMAF. Stay tuned for updates about how to participate in or support the challenge. 

      WITH SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR:

      STAFF  |  BOARD |  FUNDERS  |  ADVISORY COUNCILS  |  PARTNERS

      MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

      TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

      Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.