做繁荣的代言人


从2014年资产学习会议中获得的经验教训

当我去年来到MAF作为 新部门 同学,我对国内经济发展政策知之甚少,因为我在大学里对国际发展更感兴趣和熟悉。因此,当有机会参加 CFED资产学习会议我渴望听到所有解决大问题的不同方法,如减轻美国的贫困,解决经济不平等和国家的贫富差距,以及获得如何建立一个运动来实现这些目标的实用技能。在这三天的会议中,涉及的内容非常多,但我带走了三个主要教训。

我们需要一个包容性的产品平台

迈克尔-谢拉登(Michael Sherraden),教授和创始人。 圣路易斯华盛顿大学社会发展中心他在开幕式全体会议上谈到,他所做的研究表明,增加劳动收入并不足以影响家庭财富。家庭也需要额外的支持,因此,该领域需要把建立他们的资产作为一个整体来看待。他提出的一个鼓舞人心的想法是一个全民储蓄账户,在每个孩子出生时自动开始,从而为孩子的教育带来更多储蓄和投资。谢拉登说,该产品已经在俄克拉荷马州进行了测试,并有一个很好的未来。

我发现关于公共福利项目的会议真的很重要,因为它涉及到了试图实现经济稳定的家庭所面临的众多政策相关障碍。 玛丽安娜-奇尔顿的研究表明,中低收入者不太愿意储蓄和报告他们的全部收入,因为他们担心会失去福利,尽管他们勉强维持生计,从工资单到工资单,并从事多份工作。Lucy Mullany来自 伊利诺伊州资产建设集团 分享他们在伊利诺伊州的成功运动,以消除 TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families)的资产限制。一群不同的共同发起人建立了足够的支持,并发出了正确的信息,使立法机构相信这是一个明智之举。

以斯拉-莱文的 CFED 提到了一些摆脱资产限制的联邦提案,如ABLE(实现更好的生活体验)法案和CSA(儿童储蓄账户)机会法案。让这些提案获得通过有许多挑战,但它们有可能帮助确保勤劳的家庭在反贫困战争中不被利用。

创业精神是少数民族社区的财富

比尔-拜纳姆的 HOPE企业公司 他在以非洲裔美国人为主的南部地区工作,被称为我国的 "贫困原点",并谈到需要有更多可获得的、可负担得起的金融产品来为那里的经济无保障的家庭、有抱负的房主和小企业的企业家服务。丽莎-长谷川的 国家CAPACD 她分享了她在为亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民社区提供金融服务方面的经验。我很欣赏她提醒与会者,当涉及到经济平等时,种族和公民身份一样,仍然很重要。有色人种社区正面临着快速的绅士化(这是我在湾区看到的第一手资料),他们在商业、教育、获得优质食品和金融资源方面的投资可能性较小。 例如,亚太裔社区是美国经济衰退后增长最快的贫困人口之一.她推动我们所有人在种族正义和资产建设运动之间建立关系,以关闭 种族财富差距。

来自芝加哥、华盛顿特区和洛杉矶的小组成员分享了他们的城市为促进有色人种社区的创业和商业发展而开展的积极故事和举措。 他们的一些创新项目包括:有特殊培训的小企业中心、商业加速器和青年IT大使、开放的联合办公空间、小企业想法的咨询以及与当地大学合作的加速教育项目。

建立联盟是关键

我得到了一个很好的机会,与来自北加州的一群同事一起去国会山访问南希-佩洛西议员和芭芭拉-李议员的办公室,倡导发薪日监管、儿童储蓄账户、获得金融产品和税收改革等问题。我分享了我们最近成功通过 SB 896 我们在会上介绍了我们的工作,以及如何将其作为其他州扩大信用建设机会的模式,以及Lending Circles对成员的信用分数和债务的影响。尽管我们都有不同的议程,但我们能够把它们联系在一起,提出一个有凝聚力的叙述,表明我们是资产建设方面的实地专家,可以成为代表们的资源。总共有来自45个州的400名参与者与政策制定者会面,这肯定会发出一个强有力的信息,即迫切需要联邦政策来扩大经济机会。 

委员们 资产和机会网络 我们一起参加了一些关于宣传和专栏文章写作的领导力培训。我获得了很多有用的策略,并将其应用到我的日常工作中,例如写一个有效的故事宣传,以及将其发送给谁,撰写专栏文章,其中包括对问题的描述和对问题的处方,包括引人入胜的轶事和将故事与及时的时事挂钩。

我们还讨论了每个人如何能够更有效地利用网络来分享最佳做法,了解更多彼此的斗争,并支持任何正在进行的政策或宣传活动。我们提出的一些想法是在网络内创建虚拟咖啡时间、网络研讨会和区域工作组。很高兴听到每个人都如此积极地帮助增强他们社区的经济能力,无论是在房屋所有权、金融教育、公民权、小企业和信贷建设方面。

我参加资产学习会议的目的是要带着更多的信心和技能,成为我们客户更明智的倡导者,并提高对资产建设投资的需求。我很感谢有机会与该领域的同事建立联系,了解更多关于各种创新的研究和方案,以及有我第一次在国会山的经历!我很高兴能参加这次会议。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

Being an Advocate for Prosperity


Lessons learned from the 2014 Assets Learning Conference

When I came to MAF last year as New Sector fellow, I knew very little about domestic economic development policies, since I was more interested and familiar with international development in college. So when the opportunity came up to attend the CFED Asset Learning Conference, I was eager to hear about all the different approaches to big problems like alleviating poverty in the U.S. and addressing economic inequality and the nation’s wealth gap along with getting practical skills on how to build a movement to achieve these goals. There was so much covered over this three day conference but I took  away 3 main lessons:

We need an inclusive platform of products

Michael Sherraden, professor and founder of the Center for Social Development at Washington University in St. Louis, spoke in the opening plenary about research he conducted that shows increasing labor income is not enough to impact household wealth. Families also need additional support, and therefore the field needs to look at building their assets as a whole. One inspiring idea he offered is a universal savings account that starts automatically at birth for every child, leading to more savings and investment for children’s education. Sherraden said the product is already being tested in Oklahoma, and has a promising future.

I found the session on public benefits program really important because it touched on the numerous policy-related barriers for families trying to reach financial stability. Mariana Chilton’s research revealed how low to moderate-income people are less encouraged to save and report their full income because of fear that they will lose welfare even though they are barely scraping by, living paycheck to paycheck and working multiple jobs. Lucy Mullany from Illinois Asset Building Group shared their successful campaign in Illinois to remove TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) asset limits. It took a diverse group of co-sponsors to build enough support and push out the right messages that convinced the legislature it was a smart move.

Ezra Levin of CFED mentioned a few federal proposals to get rid of asset limits such as ABLE (Achieving Better Life Experience) Act and the CSA (Childrens’ Savings Account) Opportunity Act. There are a number of challenges in getting these proposals through, but they have the potential to help ensure hardworking families aren’t taken advantage of in the war on poverty.

Entrepreneurship is an asset for minority communities

Bill Bynum of HOPE Enterprise Corporation works in the Deep South, in predominately African-American communities, which he described as “ground zero of poverty” in our country and spoke about the need for more accessible, affordable financial products to serve the financially insecure families, aspiring homeowners and small business entrepreneurs there. Lisa Hasegawa of National CAPACD (one of MAF’s partners) shared her experience working to empower Asian American and Pacific Islander communities with financial services. I appreciated the fact that she reminded the attendees that race still matters when it comes to economic equality as does citizenship status. Communities of color are facing rapid gentrification (something I see first-hand in the Bay Area) and are less likely to have investment in business, education, access to quality food, and financial resources in their areas. The AAPI community, for example, is one of the fastest growing poverty populations in the US after the recession. She pushed us all to build relationships between the racial justice and asset-building movements in order to close the racial wealth gap.

Panelists from Chicago, D.C. and L.A. shared positive stories and initiatives taking place in their cities to spur entrepreneurship and business development for communities of color.  Some of their innovative projects include a small business center with special trainings, business accelerators, and youth IT ambassadors, open co-working spaces, consulting for small business ideas, and accelerated education programs with local universities.

Coalition building is key

I got the amazing opportunity to go to Capitol Hill with a group of colleagues from Northern California to visit the offices of Rep. Nancy Pelosi and Rep. Barbara Lee to advocate for issues like payday regulation, child savings accounts,access to financial products and tax reform. I shared our recent success passing SB 896 and how it could be used as a model for other states to expand credit-building opportunity as well as the impact of Lending Circles on members’ credit scores and debt. Even though we all had different agendas, we were able to tie them together and present a cohesive narrative that showed we were on-the-ground experts on asset-building that could be a resource for the representatives. In total, there were 400 participants from 45 states that met with policymakers, which is sure to send a strong message about the urgent need for federal policies to expand economic opportunity. 

Members of the Assets and Opportunity network got together for some leadership intensives on advocacy and op-ed writing. I gained a lot of useful strategies to implement into my daily work, such as writing an effective story pitch and who to send it to, crafting op-eds that are one part description of the problem and two parts prescription to the problem, including engaging anecdotes and tying stories to timely current events.

We also talked about how everyone could leverage the network more effectively to share best practices, learn more one another’s struggles and support any policy or advocacy campaigns taking place. Some ideas we came up with were creating virtual coffee hours, webinars and regional working groups within the network. It was great to hear how everyone was so motivated to help empower their communities economically whether it was regarding home ownership, financial education, citizenship, small business and credit-building.

My goal attending the Assets Learning Conference was to come out with more confidence and skills to be a more informed advocate for our clients and to elevate the need for investment in asset-building. I’m thankful for the opportunity to network with colleagues in the field, learn more about the various innovative research and programming available as well as have my first Capitol Hill experience!

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.