تخيل مجتمعًا يُعامل فيه الجميع بكرامة.

مجتمع يحظى فيه العمود الفقري بالتقدير لقوته وقيمه - لا يُستهدف ظلماً ، أو يُهدد بالترحيل ، أو يُجبر على العيش في خوف وصمت. إنه الفرق بين أن تكون عالقًا في بيع تاماليس من الباب إلى الباب مع ربح $5 في نهاية الأسبوع إلى امتلاك مطعم صاخب يضم 12 موظفًا وهو مكان اجتماع نابض بالحياة لحي بأكمله.

45 مليون أمريكي يعيشون في الظل المالي.

عدد غير متناسب من الأقليات والمهاجرين والأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض ليس لديهم حسابات جارية أو توفير أو تقرير ائتمان في الملف. العيش في الظل يعني أن تكافح لمجرد أن تكون قادرًا على القيام بالأساسيات - استئجار شقة أو الحصول على وظيفة أو الحصول على بطاقة ائتمان أو بدء عمل تجاري.

الفرصة المناسبة في الوقت المناسب تغير كل شيء.

مع القليل من الإبداع والنهج الفريد ، يمكننا إنشاء سوق عادل للجميع. منذ عام 2007 ، ساعدنا الآلاف من الأشخاص ذوي الدخل المنخفض على تحويل الحواجز إلى فرص ، وتمكينهم من بناء مستقبل أكثر إشراقًا.

توضح قيمنا كل ما نقوم به:

نحن يجتمع الناس أينما كانوا ، وليس في المكان الذي نعتقد أنه يجب أن يكونوا فيه
نحن يبني على ما يمتلكه الأشخاص ، بغض النظر عن الشكل أو الحجم
نحن احترام المجتمعات المتنوعة التي نخدمها وندرك نقاط قوتها الخفية

قصتنا التأسيسية تدور حول الأمل

يقع MAF في منطقة Mission District النابضة بالحياة في سان فرانسيسكو ، وهو حي معروف بمهرجانات الشوارع والجداريات الملونة والبوريتو الفائقة. إنه موطن للطهاة ومنظفات المنازل وأصحاب الأعمال الصغيرة الذين يحلمون يومًا ما بإرسال أطفالهم إلى الكلية أو امتلاك منزل. ولكن بدون حسابات بنكية أو سجلات ائتمانية ، يمكن أن تكون الأنشطة اليومية مثل دفع الفواتير أو استئجار شقة تحديًا شاقًا.

تأسست ماف في عام 2007 عندما اجتمعت مؤسسة ليفي شتراوس ومجموعة ديناميكية من قادة المجتمع معًا وتصوروا مستقبلًا مختلفًا لسكان البعثة. لقد أسسوا منظمتنا باستخدام استثمار بقيمة مليون دولار تم تمويله من بيع آخر مصنع للدينيم Levi Strauss في سان فرانسيسكو. مع القليل من الإبداع ، كانوا يأملون أن يحصل كل فرد في المجتمع على فرصة للوصول إلى أحلامهم ، خطوة بخطوة.

لكن الأمر يتعلق أيضًا بالابتكار

في وقت مبكر ، قمنا باستطلاع آراء السكان ذوي الدخل المنخفض لفهم حياتهم بشكل أفضل وعلمنا أن 44% من جميع الأسر في مقاطعات البعثة ليس لديها درجات ائتمانية. نتيجة لذلك ، تحولت العديد من العائلات إلى خدمات مالية هامشية مثل مقرضي يوم الدفع ، الذين لديهم مواقع أكثر من ماكدونالدز وستاربكس مجتمعين.


كبديل لهذه الخدمات الإضافية ، تحول العديد من السكان إلى التقليد العريق المتمثل في الاجتماع معًا لإقراض واقتراض الأموال مع بعضهم البعض. ساعدت ممارسة الاقتراض غير الرسمية هذه ، المعروفة باسم "التاندا" في مجتمع المهاجرين المكسيكي ، الناس على تلبية الاحتياجات الفورية. لكنها لم تقم ببناء تاريخ ائتماني ، وهي خطوة أولى مهمة نحو الأمن المالي والازدهار.


بناءً على هذه الفكرة ، أطلقت MAF Lending Circles في عام 2008. ساعد برنامج القروض الاجتماعية هذا الأول من نوعه الناس على فتح حسابات مصرفية ، وتجنب المقرضين المفترسين ، وبناء الائتمان بسرعة. انتشر الخبر في جميع أنحاء الحي ، واستمر الإقراض الاجتماعي في النمو.

وباستخدام النوع المناسب من التكنولوجيا

لنقل أفكارنا إلى السوق ، كان علينا بناء أنظمة تتيح لنا خدمة قروض بدون فائدة والإبلاغ عن مدفوعات العملاء إلى مكاتب الائتمان ، وهو أمر لن تضطر معظم المنظمات غير الربحية إلى التفكير فيه. لكننا تعاملنا مع هذا التحدي مثل كل الآخرين. أولاً ، تخيلنا ما يمكن أن يكون. ثم قمنا ببنائه بمساعدة من ألمع وأكثرهم حماسة. كل يوم ، نواصل الابتكار والتحسين - من توسيع نطاق وصولنا إلى تبسيط التسجيل. نعطي الأولوية لجعل أنظمتنا تعمل بشكل أفضل حتى يتمكن شركاؤنا من المنظمات غير الربحية من التركيز على أفضل ما يفعلونه: دعم مجتمعاتهم.

نحن قادرون على مساعدة المجتمعات في كل مكان

في عام 2011 ، قمنا بتوسيع برامجنا لتشمل منطقة الخليج بأكملها وشاركنا في تقييم أكاديمي مع جامعة ولاية سان فرانسيسكو. أثبتت النتائج أن Lending Circles كان له تأثير كبير على المقترضين ذوي الدخل المنخفض. مع انتشار الخبر ، بدأت المنظمات غير الربحية في جميع أنحاء البلاد تطلب تقديم برامجنا إلى مجتمعاتهم. وبمجرد بناء الأنظمة ، بدأنا العمل مع المنظمات غير الربحية في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، وسرعان ما انضممنا إلى 20 منظمة في العامين الأولين.

لأن مساعدة المزيد من المنظمات غير الربحية تعني مساعدة المزيد من الناس

تتمثل رؤيتنا في إنشاء سوق مالي عادل للأشخاص الذين يعملون بجد. لأنه عندما يكون شخص ما غير مرئي أو عالق أو مربوط ، فإنه يؤذي الأسرة بأكملها. وعندما تعاني عائلة واحدة ، يعاني المجتمع بأكمله. لهذا السبب نعمل على إتاحة Lending Circles ومنتجات القروض الأخرى على الصعيد الوطني. عملنا مبني على نقاط القوة الخفية: من الناس والمنظمات غير الربحية والمجتمعات. ونحن نواصل توسيع شبكتنا من مقدمي الخدمات غير الربحيين في جميع أنحاء البلاد للمساعدة في بناء مستقبل أكثر إشراقًا لملايين الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في الظل المالي.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Imagine a society where everyone is treated with dignity.

A society where its backbone is appreciated for their strengths and values - not unfairly targeted, threatened with deportation, or forced to live in fear and silence. It’s the difference between being stuck selling tamales door-to-door with a $5 profit at the end of the week to owning a bustling restaurant with 12 employees that is a vibrant meeting place for an entire neighborhood.

45 million Americans are living in the financial shadows.

A disproportionate number of minorities, immigrants, and low-income households have no checking or savings accounts or credit report on file. Living in the shadows means struggling just to be able to do the basics - rent an apartment, get a job, get a credit card or start a business.

The right opportunity at the right time changes everything.

With a little creativity and a unique approach, we can create a fair marketplace for everyone. Since 2007, we’ve helped thousands of low-income people transform barriers into opportunities, enabling them to build brighter futures.

Our values inform everything that we do:

We meet people where they are, not where we think they should be
We build on what people have, no matter the shape or size
We respect the diverse communities we serve and recognize their hidden strengths

Our founding story is about hope

MAF is located in San Francisco’s vibrant Mission District, a neighborhood known for its street festivals, colorful murals, and super burritos. It’s home to cooks, house cleaners, and small business owners who dream of someday sending their kids to college or owning a home. But without bank accounts or credit histories, everyday activities like paying bills or renting an apartment can be a daunting challenge.


MAF was founded in 2007 when the Levi Strauss Foundation and a dynamic group of community leaders came together and imagined a different future for Mission residents. They founded our organization using a million-dollar investment funded by the sale of the last Levi Strauss denim factory in San Francisco. With a little creativity, they hoped that everyone in the community could have a chance to reach their dreams, one step at a time.

But it's also about innovation

Early on, we surveyed low-income residents to better understand their lives and learned that 44% of all households in the Mission Districts had no credit scores. As a result, many families turned to fringe financial services like payday lenders, which have more locations than McDonalds and Starbucks combined.


As an alternative to these fringe services, many residents turned to the time-honored tradition of coming together to lend and borrow money with each other. Known as “tandas” within the Mexican immigrant community, this informal borrowing practice helped people meet immediate needs. But it didn’t them build a credit history, a critical first step toward financial security and prosperity.


Building on this idea, MAF launched Lending Circles in 2008. This first-of-a-kind social loan program has helped people open bank accounts, avoid predatory lenders, and quickly build credit. Word spread throughout the neighborhood, and social lending continued to grow.

And with the right kind of technology

To take our ideas to market, we had to build systems that would let us service zero-interest loans and report clients’ payments to credit bureaus, something most nonprofits would never have to think about. But we approached this challenge like all others. First, we imagined what could be. Then we built it with help from the brightest and most passionate. Every day, we continue to innovate and improve – from expanding our reach to streamlining enrollment. We prioritize making our systems work better so our nonprofit partners can focus on what they do best: supporting their communities.

We are able to help communities everywhere

In 2011, we expanded our programs to the entire Bay Area and participated in an academic evaluation with San Francisco State University. The results proved that Lending Circles had a significant impact on low-income borrowers. As word spread, nonprofits across the country began asking to bring our programs to their communities. And as soon as the systems were built, we began working with nonprofits across the U.S., quickly joining forces with 20 organizations in the first two years.

Because helping more nonprofits means helping more people

Our vision is to create a fair financial marketplace for hardworking people. Because when one person is invisible, stuck or strapped, it hurts an entire family. And when one family suffers, the whole community suffers. That’s why we work to make Lending Circles and other loan products available nationwide. Our work is built on hidden strengths: of people, of nonprofits, of communities. And we’re continuing to expand our network of nonprofit providers across the country to help build a brighter future for the millions of people who live in the financial shadows.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.