想象一下,在这个社会里,每个人都受到尊严的对待。

在这个社会里,骨干的力量和价值得到赞赏,而不是不公平地成为目标,受到驱逐的威胁,或者被迫生活在恐惧和沉默中。这就是挨家挨户卖玉米饼,一周结束时只有$5的利润,与拥有一家拥有12名员工的繁华餐厅,成为整个社区充满活力的聚会场所之间的区别。

4500万美国人生活在金融阴影中。

少数民族、移民和低收入家庭中,没有支票或储蓄账户或信用报告档案的人数比例过高。生活在阴影中意味着要为能够做到基本的事情而挣扎 -- -- 租房、找工作、办信用卡或创业。

在合适的时间,合适的机会改变了一切。

只要有一点创造力和独特的方法,我们就能为大家创造一个公平的市场。自2007年以来,我们已经帮助数以千计的低收入者将障碍转化为机会,使他们能够建立更光明的未来。

我们的价值观贯穿了我们所做的一切。

我们 迎接 人无完人
我们 构建 人无我有,人有我优。
我们 尊重 我们所服务的不同社区,并认识到他们的潜在优势。

我们的创业故事是关于希望

MAF位于旧金山活力四射的Mission区,这个街区以其街头节日、多彩壁画和超级卷饼而闻名。这里是厨师、家庭清洁工和小企业主的家,他们梦想着有一天能送孩子上大学或拥有自己的房子。但是,如果没有银行账户或信用记录,支付账单或租房等日常活动可能是一个令人生畏的挑战。

MAF成立于2007年,当时Levi Strauss基金会和一群充满活力的社区领袖走到一起,想象着Mission居民的不同未来。他们利用出售旧金山最后一家Levi Strauss牛仔布工厂的百万美元投资,成立了我们的组织。他们希望通过一点点的创意,让社区里的每个人都有机会一步步实现自己的梦想。

但这也是关于创新

早期,我们对低收入居民进行了调查,以更好地了解他们的生活,并了解到任务区所有家庭中的44%没有信用评分。因此,许多家庭转而求助于发薪日贷款机构等边缘金融服务,这些机构的网点比麦当劳和星巴克的总和还要多。


作为这些附带服务的替代办法,许多居民转而求助于历史悠久的传统,即聚集在一起互相借钱。这种非正式的借贷做法在墨西哥移民社区被称为 "tandas",它帮助人们满足了眼前的需求。但这并不能帮助他们建立信用记录,而信用记录是实现财务安全和繁荣的关键第一步。


基于这一想法,MAF于2008年推出了Lending Circles。这个首创的社会贷款项目帮助人们开立银行账户,避开掠夺性贷款人,并迅速建立信用。消息传遍了整个社区,社会贷款不断发展。

有了正确的技术

为了将我们的想法推向市场,我们必须建立一个系统,让我们提供零息贷款服务,并向信用机构报告客户的付款情况,这是大多数非营利组织从未想过的。但我们像对待其他挑战一样对待这个挑战。首先,我们想象了可能发生的事情。然后,我们在最聪明和最有激情的人的帮助下建立了它。每天,我们都在不断创新和改进--从扩大我们的覆盖范围到简化注册程序。我们优先考虑让我们的系统更好地运作,以便我们的非营利合作伙伴能够专注于他们最擅长的事情:支持他们的社区。

我们能够帮助各地的社区

2011年,我们将我们的计划扩展到整个湾区,并与旧金山州立大学一起参与了一项学术评估。结果证明,Lending Circles对低收入借款人产生了重大影响。随着消息的传播,全国各地的非营利组织开始要求将我们的项目带到他们的社区。而在系统建立后,我们就开始与美国各地的非营利组织合作,在头两年就迅速与20家组织合作。

因为帮助更多的非营利组织意味着帮助更多的人。

我们的愿景是为勤劳的人们创造一个公平的金融市场。因为当一个人被忽视、被困住或被束缚时,就会伤害到整个家庭。而当一个家庭受到伤害时,整个社会都会受到伤害。这就是为什么我们努力让Lending Circles和其他贷款产品在全国范围内普及的原因。我們的工作建立在隱藏的力量上:人民、非營利機構和社區的力量。我们正在继续扩大我们在全国各地的非营利机构网络,以帮助生活在金融阴影中的数百万人建立一个更光明的未来。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Imagine a society where everyone is treated with dignity.

A society where its backbone is appreciated for their strengths and values - not unfairly targeted, threatened with deportation, or forced to live in fear and silence. It’s the difference between being stuck selling tamales door-to-door with a $5 profit at the end of the week to owning a bustling restaurant with 12 employees that is a vibrant meeting place for an entire neighborhood.

45 million Americans are living in the financial shadows.

A disproportionate number of minorities, immigrants, and low-income households have no checking or savings accounts or credit report on file. Living in the shadows means struggling just to be able to do the basics - rent an apartment, get a job, get a credit card or start a business.

The right opportunity at the right time changes everything.

With a little creativity and a unique approach, we can create a fair marketplace for everyone. Since 2007, we’ve helped thousands of low-income people transform barriers into opportunities, enabling them to build brighter futures.

Our values inform everything that we do:

We meet people where they are, not where we think they should be
We build on what people have, no matter the shape or size
We respect the diverse communities we serve and recognize their hidden strengths

Our founding story is about hope

MAF is located in San Francisco’s vibrant Mission District, a neighborhood known for its street festivals, colorful murals, and super burritos. It’s home to cooks, house cleaners, and small business owners who dream of someday sending their kids to college or owning a home. But without bank accounts or credit histories, everyday activities like paying bills or renting an apartment can be a daunting challenge.


MAF was founded in 2007 when the Levi Strauss Foundation and a dynamic group of community leaders came together and imagined a different future for Mission residents. They founded our organization using a million-dollar investment funded by the sale of the last Levi Strauss denim factory in San Francisco. With a little creativity, they hoped that everyone in the community could have a chance to reach their dreams, one step at a time.

But it's also about innovation

Early on, we surveyed low-income residents to better understand their lives and learned that 44% of all households in the Mission Districts had no credit scores. As a result, many families turned to fringe financial services like payday lenders, which have more locations than McDonalds and Starbucks combined.


As an alternative to these fringe services, many residents turned to the time-honored tradition of coming together to lend and borrow money with each other. Known as “tandas” within the Mexican immigrant community, this informal borrowing practice helped people meet immediate needs. But it didn’t them build a credit history, a critical first step toward financial security and prosperity.


Building on this idea, MAF launched Lending Circles in 2008. This first-of-a-kind social loan program has helped people open bank accounts, avoid predatory lenders, and quickly build credit. Word spread throughout the neighborhood, and social lending continued to grow.

And with the right kind of technology

To take our ideas to market, we had to build systems that would let us service zero-interest loans and report clients’ payments to credit bureaus, something most nonprofits would never have to think about. But we approached this challenge like all others. First, we imagined what could be. Then we built it with help from the brightest and most passionate. Every day, we continue to innovate and improve – from expanding our reach to streamlining enrollment. We prioritize making our systems work better so our nonprofit partners can focus on what they do best: supporting their communities.

We are able to help communities everywhere

In 2011, we expanded our programs to the entire Bay Area and participated in an academic evaluation with San Francisco State University. The results proved that Lending Circles had a significant impact on low-income borrowers. As word spread, nonprofits across the country began asking to bring our programs to their communities. And as soon as the systems were built, we began working with nonprofits across the U.S., quickly joining forces with 20 organizations in the first two years.

Because helping more nonprofits means helping more people

Our vision is to create a fair financial marketplace for hardworking people. Because when one person is invisible, stuck or strapped, it hurts an entire family. And when one family suffers, the whole community suffers. That’s why we work to make Lending Circles and other loan products available nationwide. Our work is built on hidden strengths: of people, of nonprofits, of communities. And we’re continuing to expand our network of nonprofit providers across the country to help build a brighter future for the millions of people who live in the financial shadows.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.