她自己的银河系:康妮的混搭大衣l。

当你漫步在旧金山任务区的第24街时,你会情不自禁地停下脚步,因为迎接你的是一个展示的 斗牛士 外边的口罩 搅拌器'的店面。

商店的名称 - 搅拌器 - 意思是 "银河系"。 纳瓦特尔语 语言。对于一家真正汇集了来自墨西哥和整个中南美洲的各种区域和文化工艺品的商店来说,这是一个恰当的名字。

走进店里,你会对五颜六色的手工制品--来自危地马拉的手工编织钱包--肃然起敬。 卡拉卡 耳环和充满活力的 瓜亚贝拉斯 来自墨西哥。

每件作品都是由店主康妮和里卡多-里维拉精心挑选的,目的是为了提升整个拉丁美洲的艺术家,并继续与当地居民分享丰富的文化历史。

对于Mixcoatl的主人康妮-里维拉来说,创业是她的血液。

康妮在墨西哥中部州的首府托卢卡长大,与她的兄弟姐妹、父母和祖父母一起生活。早期,她的祖父母是康妮灵感的一个强大来源。她从他们令人钦佩的职业道德和他们驾驭多种工作的娴熟方式中汲取了灵感--作为 农民在墨西哥,有很多人是为了养家糊口而做工匠和企业主。他们拥有一个销售各种食品的生意,从农产品到糖果,而且正如墨西哥的惯例,整个家庭都在帮忙。

康妮没能上学,但她在帮助她的祖父母经营小企业的过程中发现了一种强有力的教育。

'我们经常去市场,我奶奶会让我去市场做交易,比如用西红柿换玉米。这些经历是我的学校教育,我的祖父母是我的第一个老师,我的第一个灵感。"

当她在20世纪80年代末与丈夫搬到美国时,她知道她想把她对创业的热爱转化为自己的商业风险。  

由于远离家乡,她对家乡的颜色、气味和符号感到某种怀念,她知道其他社区成员也有这种感觉。对于那些可能与她的国家和文化没有直接联系的人,她想找到一种方法,与他们分享她的传统。这就是 搅拌器.

"第一,当我来到这里并离开家时,我知道我想促进我的文化并保持其活力。而且不仅仅是一个镇或一个州的文化,而是来自整个中美洲和南美洲的文化。我还想创造一些东西,使许多有才华的工匠能够继续创造。"

她以较小的规模开始她的生意,向朋友和邻居出售商品。当她的哥哥从墨西哥来看她时,她会要求他带一些手工制作的珠宝,以增加她的库存。她能够很快卖出这些物品,所以她开始考虑扩大她的业务。但有几件事阻碍了她迈出下一步。

首先,她担心的是她需要进行的财务投资--这项投资不仅会影响到她,也会影响到她的家庭。当时,她、她的丈夫和她的两个孩子生活在一个有限的储蓄基金中,他们知道为了建立他们的企业,他们将需要承担债务。她的第二个担忧是围绕着寻找正确的资源来支持她的整个过程。她知道她无法独自完成这项工作,而且她需要的不仅仅是财务支持。她要如何经营这项业务?获得正确的经营许可?

康妮知道,作为一个企业主,她还有很多东西需要学习,但她决心要找到正确的信息。

幸运的是,有一天,当康妮在她的社区散步时,她碰巧路过一个 非营利性组织,为女性企业主提供全面的支持服务。  

"当我想知道一些事情时,我非常好奇,所以我决定敲开他们的门,他们为我打开了门"

很快,康妮参加了他们为期8周的课程,在那里她学会了如何创建一个商业计划,如何获得正确的许可,最重要的是,她带着自信离开,去追求她的业务扩展。

她的下一步是确保一个砖和砂浆的位置。正如早些时候在附近散步使她找到了正确的资源一样,又是在附近散步使她找到了位于24街和南凡尼斯街的砖瓦场地。 搅拌器.当然,还有什么比Mission区更好的位置呢--这个社区已经成为拉丁裔社区的据点。

搅拌器 位于现在被指定为 "拉丁裔文化区 "的地方。

为了解决该地区绅士化的影响,旧金山参事会在2014年通过了一项决议,将使命区的一部分指定为拉丁裔文化区。这一指定是当地政府和社区组织的承诺。

"在旧金山的试金石拉丁裔文化区和大Mission社区,保护、加强和倡导拉丁裔文化的连续性、活力和社区。"

- Calle 24 (Ventiquatro)

拉丁美洲文化区的维护和保护由社区团体监督。 Calle 24 (Ventiquatro)搅拌器 这正是与这个文化区的使命相一致的业务类型。 搅拌器 旨在通过将来自墨西哥和整个中美洲和南美洲的真实、独特的手工制品带到旧金山的Mission区,促进、保护和分享拉丁美洲文化。

虽然 搅拌器 在决议通过之前,该指定已经成为缓解城市化的流离失所影响的重要步骤,并确保新的企业主保持对现有社区的承诺--从他们的服务对象,他们的雇用方式,以及他们与社区的接触方式。

康妮为她和她丈夫所能建立的一切感到自豪。但她的企业不断经历着财务上的起伏。

正是在经济拮据的时期,她找到了Mission Asset Fund(MAF)。她从一个朋友那里听说了MAF,所以她决定再走一趟。这一次,她走到了MAF的办公室。

在与MAF的客户成功经理Doris Vasquez交谈后,她被MAF提供零利率贷款的事实所吸引,并发现申请过程简单易行。康尼决定加入农发基金的 Lending Circles商务版 她用她的第一轮资金购买了摄像头以改善商店的安全。她非常喜欢这个项目,所以她决定加入另一个借贷圈。

来自 Mission Asset Fund 康尼认为Mission区强大的社区支持生态系统是她整个旅程中的福地,她还为其他一些当地非营利组织提供了帮助。

但尽管如此,与正确的资源建立联系并不是一件容易的事。

"也许资源就在那里,但我们不知道该去哪里。对小企业主来说,这很难,因为你经常自己工作,没有雇员,所以很难找到时间来寻求帮助。当你从一天中抽出时间时,你会觉得你正在失去收入"。

作为一个企业主,康尼的下一个目标是什么?她刚刚又开了一家店。 科利伯里,也位于任务区的拉丁裔文化区,所以她想继续发展她的新位置。 科利伯里 还销售来自墨西哥和整个拉丁美洲的手工制品。 她还想达到有能力再雇佣一名员工的程度。她希望有更多的时间与她的孩子们在一起,她还想把她的企业作为一个平台,担任导师,为年轻人创造就业机会。

"我希望我的故事能够鼓舞和激励年轻人相信自己。我想让他们知道,总有一扇门为他们打开。此外,正如我父亲总是说,如果你要做一件事,就给它100%,并带着爱去做。"

对康尼来说,经营企业并不是一件容易的事,但她的直觉和要求正确资源的内在动力已经证明是一种宝贵的资源。

在康尼和康尼的故事中 搅拌器我们看到了真正扎根于社区的企业的美丽和力量--这些企业不仅维护和加强了充满活力的文化,而且他们有一种内在的回馈社区的精神。

如果你还没有去过 搅拌器这是一家你不能错过的商店。

3201 24号大街

San Francisco, CA 94110

了解更多关于Mixcoatl的信息 Yelp脸书.

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

A Galaxy of Her Own: Connie’s Mixcoatl

When you’re strolling down 24th Street in San Francisco’s Mission District, you can’t help but stop in your tracks as you are greeted by a display of luchador masks outside Mixcoatl’s storefront.

The store’s name — Mixcoatl — means ‘milky way’ in the Nahuatl language. It’s an apt name for a store that truly does bring together a wide range of regional and cultural crafts from Mexico and all over Central and South America.

Walk into the store, and you’ll stand in awe of the colorful array of handcrafted goods — hand woven purses from Guatemala, calaca earrings and vibrant guayaberas from Mexico.

Each piece is thoughtfully chosen by the store’s owners — Connie and Ricardo Rivera — in an effort to uplift artists throughout Latin America and to continue to share rich cultural histories with local residents.

For Connie Rivera, Mixcoatl’s owner, entrepreneurship runs in her blood.

Connie grew up in Toluca, Mexico, the capital of the central state of Mexico, living with her siblings, parents, and grandparents. Early on, her grandparents served as a strong source of inspiration for Connie. She drew from their admirable work ethic and the skillful way in which they navigated multiple jobs — as campesinos, artisans, and business owners — to provide for their family. They owned a business selling a variety of foodstuffs, from produce to candies, and as was the norm in Mexico, the whole family helped out.

Connie was not able to attend school, but she found a powerful education in helping her grandparents operate their small business:

‘We used to go to a market and my grandma would send me to the market to make a trade, like trading tomatoes for corn. These experiences were my schooling, and my grandparents were my first teachers, my first inspiration.”

When she moved to the U.S. with her husband in the late 1980’s, she knew that she wanted to channel her love for entrepreneurship into her own business venture.  

Being far away from home, she felt a certain nostalgia for the colors, scents, and symbols of her home country, and she knew that other community members felt the same. And for those who might not have a direct connection to her country and culture, she wanted to find a way to share her traditions with them as well. This was the origin of Mixcoatl.

“Number one, when I came here and left home, I knew I wanted to promote my culture and keep it alive. And not just the culture from one town or one state, but from all over Central and South America. I also wanted to create something that would allow the many talented artisans to continue creating.”

She started her business on a smaller scale selling goods to friends and neighbors. When her brother would visit her from Mexico, she would ask him to bring a few handcrafted jewelry items with him to add to her inventory. She was able to sell these items quickly, so she started to think about expanding her business. But there were a couple things holding her back from taking the next step.

First, she was concerned about the financial investment she would need to make — an investment that would not just impact her, but also her family. At the time, she, her husband, and her two kids were living with a limited savings fund, and they knew they would need to take on debt in order to build their business. Her second concern was around finding the right resources to support her throughout the process. She knew she could not do this alone, and it wasn’t just financial support that she needed. How was she going to operate this business? Obtain the right licenses to operate?

Connie knew that she still had a lot to learn about being a business owner, but she was determined to find the right information.

As luck would have it, one day, as Connie was walking around her neighborhood, she happened to pass by a nonprofit organization that offered comprehensive support services for female business owners.  

“I’m very curious when I want to know something, so I decided to knock on their door, and they opened it for me”

Soon, Connie enrolled in their 8-week program where she learned how to create a business plan, how to obtain the right licensing, and most importantly, she walked away with the confidence to pursue her business expansion.

Her next step was to secure a brick and mortar location. Just as a stroll in the neighborhood led her to find the right resources earlier, it was another neighborhood stroll that led her to secure her brick and mortar venue on 24th St & South Van Ness St. When she saw the empty storefront, her instinct confirmed that this was the right location for Mixcoatl. And of course, what better location than the Mission District — a neighborhood that has become a stronghold for the Latinx community.

Mixcoatl is located in what has now been designated the ‘Latino Cultural District.’

To address the effects of gentrification in this area, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors passed a resolution in 2014 designating a portion of the Mission District as the Latino Cultural District. This designation serves as a commitment from both local government and community organizations:

“To preserve, enhance and advocate for Latino cultural continuity, vitality, and community in San Francisco’s touchstone Latino Cultural District and the greater Mission community.”

– Calle 24 (Ventiquatro)

The maintenance and preservation of the Latino Cultural District is overseen by community group Calle 24 (Ventiquatro), and Mixcoatl is exactly the type of business that aligns with the mission of this cultural district. Mixcoatl aims to promote, preserve, and share Latin American culture by bringing authentic, unique, handmade pieces from Mexico and all over Central and South America to San Francisco’s Mission District.

Though Mixcoatl opened much before the resolution passed, the designation has been an important step in mitigating the displacing effects of gentrification and ensuring that new business owners maintain a commitment to the existing community — from who they serve, how they hire, and how they engage with the community.

Connie is proud of what she and her husband have been able to build. But her business has continued to experience financial ups and downs.

It was during a period of financial struggle that she approached Mission Asset Fund (MAF). She heard about MAF from a friend, so she decided take another walk. This time, she walked to the MAF office.

After talking to MAF’s Client Success Manager, Doris Vasquez, she was drawn to the fact that MAF offered a zero-interest loan and found the application process easy and accessible. Connie decided to join MAF’s Lending Circles for Business program, and she used her first round of funds to buy cameras to improve store security. She loved the program so much that she decided to join another Lending Circle.

From Mission Asset Fund to a number of other local nonprofit organizations, Connie credits the strong ecosystem of community support in the Mission District as a blessing throughout her journey.

But that being said, getting connected with the right resources was no easy task.

“Maybe the resources are there, but we don’t know where to go. It’s hard for small business owners because you’re often working by yourself with no employees, so it’s tough to find the time to ask for help. When you do take time out of your day, you feel like you’re losing revenue.”

What’s Connie’s next goal as a business owner? She has just opened up another store, Colibri, also located in the Latino Cultural District in the Mission District, so she’d like to continue to grow her new location. Colibri also sells handcrafted goods from Mexico and all over Latin America. She also wants to get to a point where she can afford to hire another staff member. She would like to have more time to spend with her kids, and she’d also like to use her business as a platform to serve as a mentor and to create employment opportunities for youth.

“I want my story to inspire and motivate young people to believe in themselves. I want them to know that there’s always a door open for them. Also, as my dad always said, if you’re going to do something, give it 100% and do it with love.”

Operating a business has not been an easy journey for Connie, but her intuition and inherent drive to ask for the right resources have proven to be an invaluable resource.

In the story of both Connie and Mixcoatl, we see the beauty and power of businesses that are truly rooted in the community — not only do these businesses preserve and enhance a vibrant culture, but they have a built-in spirit of giving back to their community.

If you haven’t visited Mixcoatl, it’s a store you can’t miss:

3201 24th St

San Francisco, CA 94110

Learn more about Mixcoatl on Yelp and Facebook.

Partner Success Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.