欢迎Carmen Chan, DREAMSF研究员!


来自委内瑞拉的追梦人卡门分享她的故事和梦想,以帮助无证青年。

卡门-陈最近加入了MAF团队,成为一名外联研究员。 旧金山公民参与和移民事务办公室的 DREAMSF奖学金.DREAMSF奖学金是为获得DACA批准的青年提供的一个机会,为旧金山的移民社区服务,同时获得宝贵的专业经验和培训。我们很高兴卡门与我们一起工作,并希望通过采访来分享关于她的一些情况!

1.是什么激励你申请梦想SF奖学金?

我正在寻找暑假期间可以做的事情,然后我的学术顾问给我发了一封关于梦想SF奖学金的邮件。我也想为无证社区做点事,因为我想知道自己能成为什么样的领导者。我申请了,并且被录取了

2.告诉我们一些关于你自己的情况。

我在委内瑞拉出生和长大。我刚刚从旧金山州立大学毕业,主修历史和西班牙语双学位。我在旧金山的埃弗雷特中学和伽利略中学上学。我12岁的时候和我的父母来到旧金山。我的父母呆了一个星期,他们决定把我和我的妹妹交给我的叔叔照顾。 这对我来说很困难,因为我不得不重新开始。我想留在我的国家,因为我的大多数家人和朋友都住在那里。

我认为自己是两个世界的人,因为在我的成长过程中,中国文化在我的周围,而一旦我去上学,委内瑞拉文化就非常突出。 在家里,我的父母对我说中文,习俗和宗教对我的成长非常重要。例如,在中国新年,我妈妈会早早起床,开始准备食物。我最喜欢的事情是醒来后闻到我妈妈做的饭菜、红包和烟花的味道。另外,委内瑞拉的文化也非常突出,因为我在邻居家呆了很长时间。我记得吃过Arepas、Cachapas和Sancocho。在学校,我和来自巴里欧的孩子们一起玩。我还学会了很多委内瑞拉的街头俚语。

委内瑞拉始终处于动荡之中。我的国家即使在今天仍然是分裂的。 我记得当我还是个孩子的时候,由于乌戈-查韦斯党和反对派之间的抗议和对抗,我经常错过学校。我的父母认为,最好的选择是来到美国,学习和提高我的教育。现在的政治局势比我离开时更糟糕。我的父母甚至没有卫生纸可以使用,也没有鸡肉可以吃。我对这个国家现在的情况感到非常糟糕。

3.有哪些你参与的活动或项目让你感到非常自豪?

当我还是一个实习生时,在 Pact, Inc, 我帮助一名亚裔学生获得了经济援助。我发现她是AB540,她非常惊讶,因为她的父母并没有告诉她她的身份。 AB540是2001年通过的一项议会法案,它允许无证学生支付州内的学费。许多无证学生把自己称为AB540,以说明他们的身份。

这个学生让我想起了自己,因为我的父母也没有告诉我,我是无证的。我是在高中发现自己的身份的,当时我的高中辅导员告诉我,我没有资格参加FAFSA。我的辅导员不知道该如何处理我的情况,因为我可能是她当时认识的第一个无证学生。

第二天,这个学生来告诉我,她不想上大学,因为太贵了。我告诉她,有很多方法可以获得帮助,比如通过奖学金。我一直鼓励她申请所有可用的奖学金,她照做了。当我发现她获得了四年的奖学金去城市学院读书时,我为她感到非常高兴。我仍然在Facebook上与她保持联系。

4.你为什么对在MAF担任外展研究员感兴趣?

拥有工作许可对我来说是一次开阔眼界的经历。我犯了错误,也学到了一些重要的重要经验。例如,报税是如此令人困惑,我在W-4中犯了一些错误。我不知道为什么国税局要从我的工资中扣钱。 我的一些无证件的朋友开始和我讨论注册信用卡的问题,因为开始建立一个信用分数是很重要的。 我很迷茫,有点困惑.我想加入MAF的原因是我想为许多无证青年提供有关财务的支持和指导。

5.你期待在你的研究金期间做什么?

我期待着学习许多技能,尤其是外展方面的技能,因为我相信外展是一个强大的工具,可以影响我们所服务的社区并赋予其权力。此外,还包括建立网络和建立联系。

6.你在未来五年内有哪些目标?

我希望在5年内能有一份我喜欢的工作,特别是为青年或湾区低收入社区工作。我希望在5年内,我有可能把我的父母接到这里和我一起生活。我已经有10年没有见到我的母亲了,我非常想念她。

7.你对追梦人群体和无证美国人有什么希望?

我希望很快我们就会有平等惠及所有人的移民改革,这种改革不仅有利于年轻人,也有利于勤劳的父母。的。 儿童入境延缓行动 它有很多限制,比如你必须在16岁之前来到美国,而且截至2012年6月15日,你必须在31岁以下,所以它并不能使每个梦想者受益。我的一个最亲密的朋友不能申请延缓行动,因为她是2007年7月来的,但要符合条件,你必须从2007年6月起就居住在美国。因为有一个月的差异,她无法申请延期行动。

我们现在不能放弃。仍然有希望。为我们的梦想而奋斗永远不会太晚。在这场斗争中,我们并不孤单。我们的斗争使我们更强大,使我们成为我们自己。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Welcome Carmen Chan, DREAMSF Fellow!

Carmen, a Dreamer from Venezuela, shares her story and dream to help undocumented youth.

SF_skyline

 

Carmen Chan recently joined the MAF team as an Outreach Fellow through the San Francisco Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs’ DREAMSF Fellowship. The DREAMSF Fellowship is an opportunity for DACA-approved youth to serve San Francisco’s immigrant communities while gaining valuable professional experience and training. We’re excited to have Carmen work with us and want to share a little bit about her through an interview!

1.What inspired you to apply to the Dream SF Fellowship?

I was looking for something to do over the summer and then my academic adviser send me an email about the Dream SF Fellowship. I also wanted to do something for the undocumented community because I wanted to find out what kind of a leader I can be. I applied and I was accepted!

2. Tell us a little about yourself.10341617_676899949025195_6366268047154649102_n

I was born and raised in Venezuela. I just graduated from San Francisco State University double majoring in History and Spanish. I attended Everett Middle School and Galileo High School in San Francisco. I came to San Francisco when I was 12 years old with my parents. My parents stayed for one week and they decided to leave me and my sister in the care of my uncle.  It was difficult for me, because I had to start over again. I wanted to stay in my country, because the majority of my family members and friends lived there.

I considered myself a person of two worlds because growing up the Chinese culture was in my surroundings and once I went to school, the Venezuelan culture was very prominent.  At home, my parents spoke Chinese to me and the customs and religion were very important growing. For example, on Chinese New Year my mom would wake up early and start preparing food. My favorite thing was waking up and smelling my mom’s cooking, the red envelopes, and the fireworks. Also, the Venezuelan culture was very prominent because I spend a lot of time in my neighbors’ houses. I remembered eating Arepas, Cachapas, and Sancocho. At school, I played with kids from the barrio. I also learned a lot of Venezuelan street slang.

Venezuela is always in turmoil. My country is divided still even today.  I remember when I was a kid I missed school a lot due to protests and confrontations between the Hugo Chavez party and the opposition. My parents thought that the best option was to come to America, study and improve my education. The political situation right now is worse than when I left. My parents do not even have toilet paper to use or chicken to eat. I feel really bad about how the country is right now.

3. What are some activities or projects you’ve been involved with that you are really proud of?

When I was an intern at Pact, Inc, I helped an Asian student with her financial aid. By doing that I found out that she was AB540 and she was so surprised because her parents did not tell her about her status.  AB540 was an assembly bill that was passed in 2001, which allows undocumented students to pay in-state tuition fees. Many undocumented students refer themselves as AB540 to specify their status.

The student reminded me a lot of myself because my parents also didn’t tell me that I was undocumented. I found out about my status in high school, when my high school counselor told me that I did not qualify for FAFSA. My counselor did not know what to do with my situation because I was probably the first undocumented student she knew at that time.

The next day, the student came and told me that she didn’t want to attend to college because it was too expensive. I told her that there were many ways to get help like through scholarships. I kept encouraging her to apply for all the scholarships available and she did. When I found out that she got a four year scholarship to attend City College, I was so happy for her. I still keep in touch with her on Facebook.

4. Why were you interested in working at MAF as an Outreach Fellow?

Having the work permit has been an eye opening experience for me. I made mistakes and I learned some important big lessons. For example, filing taxes was so confusing and I made some mistakes in my W-4. I didn’t know why the IRS needed to take money out of my paycheck.  Some of my undocumented friends started to talk to me about signing up for credit cards, because it was important to start building a credit score. I was lost and little confused. The reason I wanted to join MAF is because I want to provide that support and guidance for many undocumented youth about their finances.

5. What are you looking forward to doing during your fellowship?

I am looking forward to learning many skills, especially in outreach, because I believe outreach is a powerful tool that can influence and empower the community that we serve. Also, networking and building connections.

6. What are some of your goals in the next five years?

I hope in 5 years to have a job that I enjoy, especially working with youth or the low-income communities in the Bay Area. I hope in 5 years I have the possibility to bring my parents to live here with me. I haven’t see my mother for about 10 years and I really miss her.

7. What are your hopes for the Dreamer community and undocumented Americans?

I hope that soon we have immigration reform that will benefit everyone equally, a reform that will benefit not only the youth, but the hardworking parents. The Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals has so many limitations, such as you have to have come to the US before age 16 and you have to be under 31 as of June 15, 2012, so it does not benefit every Dreamer. One of my closest friends could not apply for Deferred Action because she came here in July of 2007 but to qualify you must have been residing in the U.S since June 2007. Because of one month difference, she couldn’t apply for the Deferred Action.

We can’t give up now. There is still hope. It is never too late to fight for our dreams. We are not alone in this fight. Our struggles make us stronger and make us who we are.


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.