تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

تمريرات SB 896! تصبح CA أول دولة تعترف ببناء الائتمان


استغرق الأمر 13 شهرًا فقط لبناء مستقبل بناء ائتماني غير ربحي

في حزيران (يونيو) 2013 ، بدأنا في وضع الأساس لتشريع من شأنه أن يغير الطريقة التي تفكر بها ولاية كاليفورنيا بشأن بناء الائتمان. في الأسبوع الماضي فقط ، وقع الحاكم جيري براون مشروع القانون الخاص بنا ، SB 896، في القانون. يعد هذا أمرًا بالغ الأهمية بالنسبة لـ Mission Asset Fund ، ولكنه يمثل لحظة أكبر في مجال بناء الأصول. انضمت المنظمات غير الربحية والدعاة في جميع أنحاء الولاية إلى أمين صندوق سان فرانسيسكو خوسيه سيسنيروس ومراقب كاليفورنيا جون تشيانغ في دعم مشروع القانون مبكرا على. حصل مشروع القانون على دعم بالإجماع من الحزبين طوال العملية التشريعية ، ولم يحصل على أي أصوات في المعارضة.

إن إقرار SB 896 يجعل ولاية كاليفورنيا أول ولاية تنظم وتعترف ببناء الائتمان كوسيلة للخير. مع هذا القانون ، يصبح بناء الائتمان هو الحدود التالية للسياسة القائمة على الأصول.

تمتلك أمتنا تاريخًا طويلًا في تشريع السياسات التي تساعد الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض على بناء الأصول - من ملكية المنازل ومزايا ضرائب الاستثمار إلى حسابات التقاعد الفردية (IRAs) وحساب التنمية الفردية (IDA). ولكن حتى الآن ، كان بناء الائتمان مفقودًا إلى حد كبير في الخطاب حول التخفيف من حدة الفقر.

ما علمتنا إياه التسعينيات عن الحاجة إلى تجميع المدخرات بين الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض كان مهمًا ؛ يُفهم الآن على نطاق واسع أن المدخرات السائلة هي أحد مؤشرات المرونة المالية لعائلة تعمل بجد. ولكن عندما بدأنا Mission Asset Fund ، أدركنا سريعًا أن بناء القدرة المالية على المدى الطويل سيستغرق أكثر من المدخرات. خلال فترة الركود 2007-2009 ، في الوقت الذي أصبحت فيه الرهون العقارية تحت الماء والديون الشخصية لـ ارتفع دخل الأمريكيين الأقل دخلاً، تعلمت أمتنا المزيد عن الائتمان والديون. 64 مليون أمريكي ليس لديهم درجات ائتمانية في الوقت الحالي. هذا يعني أنهم لا يتمتعون بوصول عادل إلى أشياء مثل الحسابات المصرفية منخفضة التكلفة أو قروض السعر الأساسي. في الواقع ، لا يستطيع الكثير منهم حتى التأهل للحصول على IDA أو شقق بأسعار معقولة أو حتى وظائف في بعض الأحيان. تقتصر خياراتهم على الخدمات المالية الهامشية والمفترسة التي تضعهم في شرك دائرة من الديون عالية التكلفة.

لهذا السبب كانت رؤيتنا هي إنشاء قانون جديد من شأنه - لأول مرة - إنشاء وتنظيم مناهج مبتكرة لبناء الائتمان بحيث يمكن للمنظمات غير الربحية في كاليفورنيا أن تتعاون معًا لتغيير السوق المالية للأفضل. تتضمن العناصر الرئيسية لـ SB 896 ما يلي:

  • تعلن ولاية كاليفورنيا أن المنظمات غير الربحية لها دور مهم تلعبه في مساعدة الأفراد على الوصول إلى قروض بناء ائتمان ميسورة التكلفة
  • إعفاء من الترخيص ضمن قانون كاليفورنيا للمقرضين الماليين (CFLL) للمنظمات غير الربحية 501c3 التي تسهل قروضًا بدون فائدة تصل إلى $2500
  • ستكون المنظمات غير الربحية قادرة على التقدم بطلب للحصول على إعفاء لتقديم قروض بدون فائدة ، طالما أنها تفي بمعايير أخرى مثل توفير التعليم الائتماني ، وتقديم التقارير إلى وكالات الائتمان الوطنية ، والكتب المفتوحة إلى وزارة الإشراف على الأعمال عند الطلب ، والإبلاغ السنوي عن بيانات الإقراض إلى DBO
  • الاعتراف بالشراكات بين المنظمات غير الربحية كطريقة إستراتيجية فعالة لتوسيع نطاق الوصول والتأثير في جميع أنحاء الدولة

يوفر SB896 ضمانًا تنظيميًا لبرامج مثل MAF Lending Circles، وهو برنامج قرض اجتماعي قدم أكثر من مليون 1T2T3 في شكل قروض بدون فائدة للعملاء في جميع أنحاء البلاد. نحن ممتنون للغاية لأن الحاكم براون أدرك الإمكانات الهائلة للقطاع غير الربحي في مساعدة الملايين من سكان كاليفورنيا المحرومين على تحقيق إمكاناتهم الاقتصادية الحقيقية. يعني سن SB896 أن المزيد من المنظمات غير الربحية ستعمل مع سكان كاليفورنيا من ذوي الدخل المنخفض من خلال تزويدهم بالوصول إلى قروض مسؤولة ، وقروض ستؤهلهم للنجاح وتضعهم على طريق الأمان المالي.

تعد كاليفورنيا الآن أول ولاية تعترف بقروض بناء الائتمان كحل مجتمعي مهم لإتاحة الوصول لمن يعانون من ضعف البنوك.

SB 896 passes! CA becomes first state to recognize credit-building

It took just 13 months to build the future of nonprofit credit building

MAF_060

In June of 2013, we started laying the groundwork for a piece of legislation that would change the way the state of California thinks about credit-building. Just last week, Governor Jerry Brown signed our bill, SB 896, into law. This is momentous for Mission Asset Fund, but an even bigger moment for the asset-building field. Nonprofit organizations and advocates throughout the state joined SF Treasurer Jose Cisneros and CA Controller John Chiang in support of the bill early on. The bill received unanimous bipartisan support throughout the legislative process, receiving zero votes in opposition.

The passage of SB 896 makes California the first state to regulate and recognize credit-building as a vehicle for good. With this law, credit-building becomes the next frontier for asset-based policy.

Our nation has a long history of legislating policies that help low-income families build assets – from home ownership and investment tax benefits to Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs) and Individual Development Account (IDA). But until now, credit-building has been largely missing from the discourse around poverty alleviation.

Courtesy: New America Foundation

Courtesy: New America Foundation

What the 90’s taught us about the need to accumulate savings among low-income households was important; liquid savings is now widely understood to be one of many indicators of the financial resilience of a hardworking family. But when we started Mission Asset Fund, we quickly understood that it would take more than savings to build financial capability in the long run. During the 2007-2009 recession, in a time when mortgages went underwater and personal debt for the lowest income Americans soared, our nation learned even more about credit and debt. 64 million Americans don’t have credit scores right now. That means they don’t have equitable access to things like low-cost bank accounts or prime-rate loans. In fact, many of them can’t even qualify for IDAs, affordable apartments or sometimes even jobs. Their choices are limited to fringe and predatory financial services that entrap them in a cycle of high cost debt.

That’s why our vision was to create a new law that – for the first time – would establish and regulate innovative credit-building approaches so that nonprofits in California could band together to change the financial marketplace for the better. Key elements of SB 896 include:

  • The State of California declares that nonprofit organizations have an important role to play in helping individuals obtain access to affordable, credit-building loans
  • A licensing exemption within the California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL) for 501c3 nonprofits facilitating zero-interest loans of up to $2,500
  • Nonprofit organizations will be able to apply for exemption to provide zero-interest loans, as long as they meet other criteria like provide credit education, report to national credit agencies, open books to the Department of Business Oversight upon request, and annually report lending data to the DBO
  • Recognition of partnerships between nonprofits as an effective strategic way to scale reach and impact throughout the state

SB896 provides regulatory assurance to programs like MAF’s Lending Circles, a social loan program which has provided over $3 million in zero-interest loans to clients nationwide. We are extremely grateful that Governor Brown recognized the enormous potential of the nonprofit sector in helping millions of underserved Californians realize their true economic potential. The enactment of SB896 means that more nonprofits will work with low-income Californians by providing them access to responsible loans, loans that will set them up for success and set them on a path to financial security.

Senator Correa (CA)

California is now the first state to recognize credit-building loans as an important community-based solution to creating access for the underbanked.

 


Jose Quinonez is the founding CEO at MAF. He is an Ashoka Fellow, a recipient of the James Irvine Leadership Award, inaugural Chair of the CFPB's Consumer Advisory Board, and serves on the Board of Directors for Credit Builder's Alliance. As a life long advocate for social justice, expanding opportunity and improving lives motivates his work.