Latthivongskorn الجديدة: من الأحلام إلى كلية الطب


جديد هو مدافع شغوف عن الصحة العامة وأول طالب غير موثق يدخل كلية الطب بجامعة كاليفورنيا في سان فرانسيسكو

كانت قرب نهاية المدرسة الثانوية عندما أدرك Jirayut "New" Latthivongskorn أنه يريد أن يكون له تأثير على مجال الرعاية الصحية الأمريكية. تم نقل والدته إلى المستشفى في سكرامنتو بعد إغماء وفقدان كمية كبيرة من الدم. سرعان ما اكتشفوا أن لديها العديد من الأورام للاعتناء بها. كان والدا الأطفال حديثي الولادة من المهاجرين الجدد من تايلاند ولا يتحدثون الإنجليزية. كان أشقاؤه الأكبر سناً مشغولين بالعمل ، لذلك كان على نيو أن يساعد عائلته في التعامل مع نظام رعاية صحية معقد من الترجمة في زيارات الطبيب ، ورعاية والدته ، والتعامل مع أمور التأمين.

قال: "كانت البداية بالنسبة لي للتفكير فيما كان بإمكاني فعله في الموقف ، مثل ما إذا كنت طبيباً أو مقدم رعاية صحية".

استسلم والدا نيو كثيرًا بعد أن دفعتهما الأعباء الاقتصادية والاجتماعية إلى الانتقال إلى كاليفورنيا من تايلاند عندما كان نيو في التاسعة من عمره. عمل والديه لساعات طويلة في المطاعم كنوادل وطهاة من أجل تغطية نفقاتهم. حفز دافعهم الجديد في سن مبكرة على التفوق الأكاديمي وإتقان اللغة الإنجليزية حتى يتمكن من تحقيق الحلم الأمريكي. ولكن نظرًا لأن New كان غير موثق ، فلا تزال هناك عقبات لا حصر لها تنتظره في تلك الرحلة.

تم تقديم طلب جديد إلى مجموعة متنوعة من كليات جامعة كاليفورنيا وتم قبوله في UC Davis بمنحة Regents التي كانت ستغطي معظم تكاليف التعليم. قبل بدء العام الدراسي مباشرة ، تم إلغاء عرض المنحة لأنه كان يفتقد وثيقة مهمة في أوراقه: البطاقة الخضراء.

أثناء نشأته ، عانى New من الخوف من الأصدقاء واكتشاف المجتمع الأكبر عن وضعه ، لكن هذا كان مختلفًا. قال: "كانت تلك المرة الأولى التي أواجه فيها حاجزًا مؤسسيًا". كان نيو مستعدًا للذهاب إلى كلية المجتمع بدلاً من ذلك ، لكن عائلته اجتمعت معًا لدعم عام واحد في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي.

بعد ذلك ، سيتعين عليه العثور على الأموال للاستمرار بمفرده. قال لحسن الحظ ، "في سنتي الثانية في الكلية ، بدأت أشعر باليأس" ، في عام 2010 ، حصل على منحة دراسية من المعلمون من أجل النظر العادل (E4FC) ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تدعم الطلاب المهاجرين من ذوي الدخل المنخفض في سعيهم للحصول على تعليم جامعي في الولايات المتحدة. كانت تلك بوابة لنيوب أن تصبح نشطة في التنظيم من أجل حقوق المهاجرين.

إن الانخراط في مجموعات مثل E4FC و ASPIRE ومجموعات في حرم جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي فتح أعين نيو أمام مجتمع من الطلاب غير المسجلين الذين كانوا يواجهون نفس الصعوبات. عندما اقترب من تخرجه من بيركلي ، أعاد نيو تركيز هدفه إلى الدخول في المجال الطبي ، لكن لا يزال لديه الكثير من الأسئلة كشخص غير موثق. "هل من الممكن حتى الذهاب إلى كلية الطب؟ أين يمكنني التقديم؟ كيف سيؤثر الحديث عن حالة الهجرة الخاصة بي على فرصي؟ " قال جديد ، متذكرًا الارتباك الذي شعر به.

"لم نكن نعرف أي شخص التحق بمدرسة الطب باعتباره غير موثق لكن الناس قالوا إنهم سمعوا عن شخص سمع عن شخص ما ... كان الأمر أشبه بمحاولة العثور على وحيد القرن."

لحل هذا النقص في الهيكل والدعم ، تأسست شركة New الحالمون قبل الصحة مع اثنين من الزملاء من E4FC ، وهي مجموعة تنمو بعد ذلك بعامين في جميع أنحاء البلاد لتمكين الطلاب غير المسجلين في سعيهم للحصول على الدراسات العليا والمهنية الصحية. بعد التخرج ، تدرب جديد في المنظمات المتعلقة بالوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية والسياسة ، مما جعله يهتم بالصحة العامة إلى جانب ممارسة الطب. "والدي وأصدقائي لا يحملون وثائق ، وعندما يمرضون ، لا يستطيعون الوصول إليها وهو أمر مثير للسخرية.

أريد تغيير ذلك." بعد فترة وجيزة من مرور DACA ، سمعت New عن Lending Circles والبرامج الأخرى التي ساعدت في تمويل تكلفة التطبيق. لقد تقدم بالفعل بطلب للحصول على DACA لكنه كان مهتمًا بمعرفة بناء الائتمان. الآن بعد أن كان لديه هو وأصدقاؤه أرقام SSN ، فإن الانضمام إلى Lending Circles يمكن أن يساعدهم على البدء في طريق الاستقرار المالي. استخدم جديد قرضه لبناء ائتمان ودفع تكاليف طلبات الالتحاق بالمدرسة الطبية. "ات هاز. الآن لدي رصيد جيد وتعلمت الكثير بعد خوض التدريبات المالية في MAF حول إدارة الأموال ، "قال. كل العمل الشاق لنيو يؤتي ثماره لأنه الآن أول طالب طب غير موثق تم قبوله في كلية الطب بجامعة كاليفورنيا في سان فرانسيسكو.

مع اقتراب أسبوع واحد ، فهو يتوقع بدء رحلة مثيرة ويمرر شعلة Pre-Health Dreamers إلى الجيل القادم من القادة. نصيحته الرئيسية للشباب غير المسجلين هي التحدث وطلب المساعدة. قال: "جئت إلى هنا لأن لدي منظمات ساعدتني في فهم ما يعنيه أن أكون غير موثق". "كشباب آسيوي غير موثق ، كان الخوف أكثر وضوحًا. أعرف ما يعنيه أن يكون الصمت هو الذي يحدد حياتي وحياة عائلتي ". يؤمن جديد بإيجاد مرشدين ومناصرين للمساعدة في إيجاد الفرص. المثابرة هي أيضًا مفتاح له عند اتخاذ القرارات.

"هناك الكثير من عدم اليقين ولكن لا تقبل أبدًا بالرفض. أنت لا تعرف حتى تحاول. أنا دليل على أن العيش. إذا لم أحاول ، لما أتيحت لي الفرص التي أتيحت لي - لن أكون هنا اليوم ".

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

New Latthivongskorn: From dreams to medical school

New is a passionate public health advocate and the first undocumented student to enter UCSF Medical School

UCSF_Medical_Center_and_Sutro_Tower_in_2008 It was near the end of high school when Jirayut “New” Latthivongskorn realized that he wanted to make an impact on the American healthcare field. His mother was rushed to the hospital in Sacramento after fainting and losing significant blood. They soon discovered that she had several tumors to take care of. New’s parents were recent immigrants from Thailand and didn’t speak English. His older siblings were busy with work, so New had to help his family navigate a complex healthcare system from translating at doctor visits, taking care of his mother, and handling insurance matters.

“It was the beginning for me to think about what I could have done in the situation, like if I was a doctor or healthcare provider,” he said.

New’s parents had given up so much after economic and social burdens pushed them to move to California from Thailand when New was nine years old. His parents worked long hours at restaurants as waiters and cooks in order to make ends meet. Their drive motivated New at a young age to excel academically and master the English language so he could achieve the American Dream. But because New was undocumented, there were still countless obstacles awaiting him on that journey.

New PhotoNew applied to a variety of University of California schools and was accepted into UC Davis with the Regents Scholarship that would have covered most of tuition costs. Right before the school year would have started, the scholarship offer was rescinded because he was missing an important document in his paperwork: a green card.

Growing up, New had experienced fear of friends and the greater community finding out about his status, but this was different. “That was my first time coming up against an institutional barrier,” he said. New was prepared to go to community college instead but his family came together to support one year at UC Berkeley.

After that, he would have to find the funds to continue on his own. “In my second year of college, I started getting desperate,” he said Luckily, in 2010, he received a scholarship from Educators for Fair Consideration (E4FC), nonprofit that supports low-income immigrant students in their pursuit of a U.S. college education. That was a gateway for New to becoming active in organizing for immigrant rights.

Getting involved with groups like the E4FC, ASPIRE, and groups on the UC Berkeley campus opened up New’s eyes to a community of undocumented students who were facing the same struggles. As he neared his graduation from Berkeley, New refocused his goal to going into the medical field but he still had so many questions as an undocumented person. “Is it even possible to go to med school? Where would I apply? How would talking about my immigration status affect my chances?” New said, remembering the confusion he felt.

“We didn’t know anyone who had gotten in to med school as undocumented but people said they had heard of someone who had heard of someone…It was like trying to find a unicorn.”

To solve that lack of structure and support, New co-founded Pre-Health Dreamers with two colleagues from E4FC, a group that two years later is growing across the country to empower undocumented students in their pursuit of graduate and health professional studies. After graduation, New interned at organizations relating to healthcare access and policy, which caused him to become interested in public health alongside the practice of medicine. “My parents and friends are undocumented and when they get sick, they don’t have access which is ridiculous.

I want to change that.” Shortly after DACA passed, New heard about Lending Circles and other programs that helped finance the cost of the application. He had already applied for DACA but he was interested in learning about credit-building. Now that he and his friends had SSN numbers, joining the Lending Circles could help them get started on a path of financial stability. New used his loan to build credit and pay for his medical school applications. “It has been very helpful. Now I have good credit and learned a lot after going through the financial trainings at MAF about managing money,” he said. All of New’s hard work paid off because he is now the first undocumented medical student accepted to UCSF School of Medicine.

With one week away, he is anticipating the start of an exciting journey and passing the Pre-Health Dreamers torch to the next generation of leaders. His main piece of advice for other undocumented youth is to speak up and seek help. “I got here because I had organizations that helped me come to term with what it meant to be undocumented,” he said. “As an Asian, undocumented youth, the fear was so much more pronounced. I know what it’s like to have silence define my life and my family’s.” New believes in finding mentors and advocate to help find opportunities. Perseverance is also key for him when making decisions.

“There is so much uncertainty but never take no for an answer. You don’t know until you try. I am living proof of that. If I hadn’t tried, I would not have had the opportunities I have had–I would not be here today.”


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.