新拉提旺斯康。从梦想到医学院


新是一位热情的公共卫生倡导者,也是第一位进入加州大学旧金山分校医学院的无证学生。

当吉拉尤特-"纽"-拉提翁斯康(Jirayut "New" Latthivongskorn)意识到他想对美国的医疗保健领域产生影响时,已经接近高中毕业了。他的母亲在晕倒和大量失血后被紧急送往萨克拉门托的医院。他们很快发现,她有几个肿瘤需要照顾。纽的父母是来自泰国的新移民,不会说英语。他的哥哥姐姐们忙于工作,因此纽不得不帮助他的家人驾驭复杂的医疗系统,包括在看病时进行翻译,照顾他的母亲,并处理保险事宜。

"他说:"这是我思考在这种情况下我能做什么的开始,就像我是一名医生或医疗保健提供者一样。

纽的父母在纽9岁时,在经济和社会负担的推动下,从泰国搬到了加州,他们放弃了很多。为了维持生计,他的父母在餐馆当服务员和厨师,工作时间很长。他们的动力促使小新在很小的时候就能在学业上取得优异成绩,并掌握英语,从而实现美国梦。但是,由于纽的身份是无证的,在这个过程中仍有无数的障碍在等待着他。

新申请了加州大学的多所学校,并被加州大学戴维斯分校录取,该校的摄政奖学金将涵盖大部分的学费。就在学年开始前,奖学金通知被取消了,因为他的文件中缺少一份重要文件:绿卡。

在成长过程中,纽曾经历过对朋友和更大社区发现他的身份的恐惧,但这次不同。"他说:"这是我第一次遇到制度上的障碍。纽准备去社区大学,但他的家人一起支持他在加州大学伯克利分校学习一年。

此后,他将不得不自己寻找资金来继续。"在我大学的第二年,我开始感到绝望,"他说,幸运的是,在2010年,他收到了来自美国的奖学金。 教育工作者的公平考虑 基金会是一个支持低收入移民学生追求美国大学教育的非营利组织。这是新的门户,使其成为积极组织移民权利的人。

参与E4FC、ASPIRE和加州大学伯克利分校等团体的活动,使纽的眼睛看到了面临同样斗争的无证学生群体。当他即将从伯克利大学毕业时,纽的目标是进入医学领域,但作为一个无证者,他仍有许多问题。"到底有没有可能上医学院?我将在哪里申请?谈论我的移民身份会如何影响我的机会?"纽说,回忆起他的困惑。

"我们不知道有谁以无证身份进入医学院,但人们说他们听说过谁听说过谁......这就像试图寻找独角兽。"

为了解决这种缺乏结构和支持的问题,纽氏共同创立了 健康前的梦想者 该组织两年后在全国范围内发展壮大,为无证学生在追求研究生和健康专业学习方面提供支持。毕业后,纽在与医疗服务获取和政策有关的组织实习,这使他在行医的同时对公共卫生感兴趣。"我的父母和朋友都是无证者,当他们生病时,他们没有机会,这是荒谬的。

我想改变这种状况"。DACA通过后不久,纽听说了Lending Circles和其他帮助资助申请费用的项目。他已经申请了DACA,但他对学习信用建设感兴趣。现在他和他的朋友有了SSN号码,加入Lending Circles可以帮助他们开始走上财务稳定的道路。纽利用他的贷款建立信用并支付他的医学院申请。"这非常有帮助。现在我有了良好的信用,在经历了MAF的金融培训后,我学到了很多关于管理金钱的知识,"他说。纽的所有努力得到了回报,因为他现在是第一个被加州大学旧金山分校医学院录取的无证医学学生。

还有一周的时间,他期待着一个令人兴奋的旅程的开始,并将预热梦想者的火炬传递给下一代的领导人。他对其他无证青年的主要建议是大声说话和寻求帮助。"我来到这里是因为有组织帮助我认清了无证的含义,"他说。"作为一个亚裔无证青年,恐惧是如此的明显。我知道让沉默定义我和我的家人的生活是什么感觉。"纽相信要找到导师和倡导者来帮助寻找机会。在做决定时,坚持不懈也是他的关键。

"有如此多的不确定性,但永远不要把拒绝当作答案。你不尝试就不知道。我就是这一点的活生生的证明。如果我没有尝试,我就不会有我所拥有的机会,我就不会有今天。"

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

New Latthivongskorn: From dreams to medical school

New is a passionate public health advocate and the first undocumented student to enter UCSF Medical School

UCSF_Medical_Center_and_Sutro_Tower_in_2008 It was near the end of high school when Jirayut “New” Latthivongskorn realized that he wanted to make an impact on the American healthcare field. His mother was rushed to the hospital in Sacramento after fainting and losing significant blood. They soon discovered that she had several tumors to take care of. New’s parents were recent immigrants from Thailand and didn’t speak English. His older siblings were busy with work, so New had to help his family navigate a complex healthcare system from translating at doctor visits, taking care of his mother, and handling insurance matters.

“It was the beginning for me to think about what I could have done in the situation, like if I was a doctor or healthcare provider,” he said.

New’s parents had given up so much after economic and social burdens pushed them to move to California from Thailand when New was nine years old. His parents worked long hours at restaurants as waiters and cooks in order to make ends meet. Their drive motivated New at a young age to excel academically and master the English language so he could achieve the American Dream. But because New was undocumented, there were still countless obstacles awaiting him on that journey.

New PhotoNew applied to a variety of University of California schools and was accepted into UC Davis with the Regents Scholarship that would have covered most of tuition costs. Right before the school year would have started, the scholarship offer was rescinded because he was missing an important document in his paperwork: a green card.

Growing up, New had experienced fear of friends and the greater community finding out about his status, but this was different. “That was my first time coming up against an institutional barrier,” he said. New was prepared to go to community college instead but his family came together to support one year at UC Berkeley.

After that, he would have to find the funds to continue on his own. “In my second year of college, I started getting desperate,” he said Luckily, in 2010, he received a scholarship from Educators for Fair Consideration (E4FC), nonprofit that supports low-income immigrant students in their pursuit of a U.S. college education. That was a gateway for New to becoming active in organizing for immigrant rights.

Getting involved with groups like the E4FC, ASPIRE, and groups on the UC Berkeley campus opened up New’s eyes to a community of undocumented students who were facing the same struggles. As he neared his graduation from Berkeley, New refocused his goal to going into the medical field but he still had so many questions as an undocumented person. “Is it even possible to go to med school? Where would I apply? How would talking about my immigration status affect my chances?” New said, remembering the confusion he felt.

“We didn’t know anyone who had gotten in to med school as undocumented but people said they had heard of someone who had heard of someone…It was like trying to find a unicorn.”

To solve that lack of structure and support, New co-founded Pre-Health Dreamers with two colleagues from E4FC, a group that two years later is growing across the country to empower undocumented students in their pursuit of graduate and health professional studies. After graduation, New interned at organizations relating to healthcare access and policy, which caused him to become interested in public health alongside the practice of medicine. “My parents and friends are undocumented and when they get sick, they don’t have access which is ridiculous.

I want to change that.” Shortly after DACA passed, New heard about Lending Circles and other programs that helped finance the cost of the application. He had already applied for DACA but he was interested in learning about credit-building. Now that he and his friends had SSN numbers, joining the Lending Circles could help them get started on a path of financial stability. New used his loan to build credit and pay for his medical school applications. “It has been very helpful. Now I have good credit and learned a lot after going through the financial trainings at MAF about managing money,” he said. All of New’s hard work paid off because he is now the first undocumented medical student accepted to UCSF School of Medicine.

With one week away, he is anticipating the start of an exciting journey and passing the Pre-Health Dreamers torch to the next generation of leaders. His main piece of advice for other undocumented youth is to speak up and seek help. “I got here because I had organizations that helped me come to term with what it meant to be undocumented,” he said. “As an Asian, undocumented youth, the fear was so much more pronounced. I know what it’s like to have silence define my life and my family’s.” New believes in finding mentors and advocate to help find opportunities. Perseverance is also key for him when making decisions.

“There is so much uncertainty but never take no for an answer. You don’t know until you try. I am living proof of that. If I hadn’t tried, I would not have had the opportunities I have had–I would not be here today.”


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.