路易斯和泽奈达:一个厨师家庭。

令人筋疲力尽的工作日程促使 Luis 和 Zenaida 为自己设想一个不同的未来。 Lending Circles 帮助他们实现了目标。

当泽奈达和路易斯发现泽奈达怀孕时,他们的反应不同。路易斯流下了喜悦的泪水,泽奈达则担心孕吐。

“但一切都发生在路易斯身上。他困了,他累了,他生病了——我很好!”她说。

这对来自萨尔瓦多、精力充沛的 30 多岁夫妇与他们的父亲有着截然不同的经历。 Luis 从未真正认识他的父亲,而 Zenaida 仍然感受到她父亲三年前去世的刺痛感。

“我和我父亲非常亲近,我希望路易斯和马特奥也一样,”她说。

2012 年,路易斯发现自己的工作时间很残酷,留给儿子马特奥的时间很少。他经常每天工作 14 小时,同时兼顾两份厨师的工作。泽奈达知道这只是时间问题,他再也无法忍受了。

一个新的经营理念

于是,这对夫妇开始了自己的事业, D'maize 餐饮,希望能有更多的时间和家人在一起。他们很快 了解到他们需要信用才能接受更大的订单。但是,泽奈达没有信用记录,因为她总是用现金支付账单。

Zenaida 加入了一个借贷圈 建立信用评分 第一次,令人印象深刻的 750!她有资格获得一笔小额贷款,为企业投资汽车,并计划申请更多资金,为家人投资商业厨房和房屋。

现在,这对夫妇拥有 8 名员工,并定期为 Foursquare 等硅谷公司和旧金山的美食节举办活动。他们继续受到儿子马特奥的启发,马特奥长大后也想成为一名厨师。

“每个人都有梦想,但有时你需要帮助,”路易斯说。 “我们并不特别。我们在社区的帮助下做到了这一点。”

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Luis and Zenaida: A family of chefs

An exhausting work schedule motivated Luis and Zenaida to envision a different future for themselves. Lending Circles helped them get there.

ZenidaStory_HeaderFINAL

Zenaida and Luis reacted differently when they found out Zenaida was pregnant. While Luis shed joyful tears, Zenaida worried about morning sickness.

“But everything happened to Luis. He was sleepy, he was tired, he was sick – I was fine!” she said.

The spunky thirty-something couple from El Salvador had very different experiences with their fathers.  Luis never really knew his dad, while Zenaida still feels the sting of her father’s passing three years ago.

“I was very close to my father and I wanted the same for Luis and Mateo,” she said.

In 2012, Luis found himself working brutal hours with little time left over for his son, Mateo.  He often worked 14-hour days juggling two jobs as a chef.  Zenaida knew it was just a matter of time before he just couldn’t stand it anymore.

A new business idea

So, the couple started their own business, D’maize Catering, in hopes of spending more time together as a family. They quickly d'maize familylearned that they needed credit to take on bigger orders. But, Zenaida had no credit history because she always paid bills in cash.

Zenaida joined a Lending Circle and established a credit score for the first time, an impressive 750! She qualified for a small loan to invest in a car for the business and plans to apply for more to invest in a commercial kitchen and a home for her family.

Now, the couple has 8 employees and regularly cater events for Silicon Valley companies like Foursquare and at food festivals in San Francisco. They continue to be inspired by their son, Mateo, who also wants to be a chef when he grows up.

“Everyone has a dream, but sometimes you need help,” Luis said. “We’re not special. We did it with help from our community.”

 


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.