换个新标志就像换个新制服一样吗?

当一个新的非营利组织成立时,通常是某人的堂兄或朋友负责设计新标志。他们尽其所能,组织急切地吃掉它,感谢又完成了一件事情。即使他们没有意识到,工作人员也会很快采用围绕该徽标创建的品牌标识。传单、网站和演示文稿都使用相同的字体和配色方案,他们努力使一切看起来都具有归属感。但过了一段时间,这个组织通常会形成自己的形象,那种老样子就跟不上。组织现在的身份不再与其向世界展示自己所需的颜色、字体和视觉风格相匹配。

我在旧金山工作的非营利组织 MAF 也不例外。大约七年前,我们由一群了不起的社区倡导者创立。当长期的邻里雇主 Levi Strauss 公司关闭了最后一家 工厂 在旧金山,社区领袖和公司携手共创未来。用收益 通过出售,他们将创建一个新的非营利组织,以帮助 Mission 区的低收入居民。于是Mission Asset Fund就形成了。其中一位社区领袖的配偶创建了我们的第一个标志。当我看到第一个标志时,我想象我们的成员看着他们的银行账户随着时间的推移而增长,在此过程中遇到了各种里程碑。

我们 2007 年的标志

但那是七年前,当时这家非营利组织有两名员工、几十个客户和全新的项目。 现在已经七年了 奖项 后来,我们的社会贷款仍然可以在 Mission District 找到,而且在美国其他六个州也可以找到。 具有刚性构建块的旧外观已扩展为更大范围的人员、社区和非营利组织,共同致力于建立一个公平的金融市场。

您的组织穿什么颜色很有意义。

粉色的据我 5 岁的儿子说,这种颜色在 19 世纪只用于年轻男孩的衣服,但现在“仅适用于女孩”。 Pink 现在还与一个全国性的乳腺癌宣传网络有关。对于 MAF,我们第一个徽标的深蓝色表示知识、力量、正直和严肃。但作为认识我们的任何人,我们也很敏捷,以社区为基础,并且不怕改变对话。

如果品牌是某人所说或了解的关于您的组织的一切,那么徽标就像团队制服。

所以年复一年,即使你的身体在成长,你的思想也在成熟,你仍然可能穿着 2007 年黑道家族褪色为黑色时缝在一起的制服。这一次,我们知道我们要去哪里,我们知道如何到达那里。因此,我们与极具创意的团队合作 数字心灵感应 想出适合我们现在的制服。

我们的新标志

我们将僵硬的形状和深蓝色换成了大小不一的充满活力的潘通色、充满活力的水蓝色、明亮的草绿色、浓郁的紫色。

我们认为我们的新面貌在向世界展示我们的变革愿景方面做得更好。

它对你说什么?

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Is a new logo like getting a new uniform?

If a brand is everything someone says or knows about your organization, a logo is like a team uniform.

When a new nonprofit is founded, it’s usually someone’s cousin or friend who gets the task of designing the new logo. They do the best job they can and the organization eagerly eats it up, grateful that one more thing is done. Even if they don’t realize it, the staff quickly adopts a brand identity created around that logo. With flyers and websites and presentations all using the same fonts and color schemes, they strive for making everything look like it has a sense of belonging. But after a while, the organization usually comes into its own and that old look just can’t keep up. Who the organization is now no longer matches the colors, fonts and visual style that it needs to represent itself to the world.

Mission Asset Fund old logo

Our 2007 logo

MAF, the nonprofit in San Francisco where I work, is no exception. About seven years ago, we were started by an amazing group of community advocates. When the Levi Strauss Company, a long-time neighborhood employer, closed its last factory in San Francisco, community leaders and the company forged together to imagine a new kind of future. With proceeds from the sale, they would create a new nonprofit to help low-income residents of the Mission District. And so Mission Asset Fund was formed. And a spouse of one of those community leaders created our first logo. When I look at the first logo, I imagine our members looking at the growth of their bank accounts over time, meeting various milestones along the way.

But that was seven years ago, when the nonprofit had two employees, a few dozen clients and brand new programs. Now it’s seven years and several awards later and our social loans can still be found in the Mission District, but also in six other U.S. states. The old look with rigid building blocks has broadened into a larger tapestry of people, communities and nonprofits working to build a fair financial marketplace, together.

What colors your organization wears are meaningful.

Pink, a color that in the 19th century was reserved for the clothing of young boys, is now “only for girls,” according to my five-year-old son. Pink is also now associated with a nationwide network of breast cancer advocacy. For MAF, the dark blues of our first logo indicate knowledge, power, integrity and seriousness. But as anyone who knows us, we’re also agile, community-based and not afraid to change the conversation.

If a brand is everything someone says or knows about your organization, a logo is like a team uniform.

MAF_Logo Full size

Our new logo

So year after year, even as your body grows and your mind matures, you can still be stuck wearing a uniform stitched together in 2007 back when the Sopranos faded to black. This time, we know where we’re going and we know how to get there. So we worked with the amazingly creative team at Digital Telepathy to come up with a uniform that fits who we are now.

We’ve traded the rigid shapes and dark blues for vibrant Pantone colors of varying sizes, energetic aqua blues, bright grass greens, rich purples.

We think our new look does a better job of showing the world what our vision for change is all about.

What does it say to you?


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.