跳到主要内容

Lending Circle项目评估发布


在 MAF,我们致力于了解我们的工作对使用我们产品的社区的影响。

多年来,我们已经看到数百名处于金融主流边缘的人走进我们的大门,寻找一种通过加入借贷圈来帮助自己驾驭金融世界的方法。虽然目睹了这些被 Lending Circle 改变的生活让我们相信了,但通常很难将这些不同的影响传达给世界。我们知道 Lending Circle 可以帮助人们实现他们的财务目标,但我们需要数字来证明这一点。这就是为什么我们有独立的评估员 旧金山州立大学的塞萨尔查韦斯研究所 研究我两年内,Lending Circle 对湾区五个社区的 600 多名参与者信用改善的影响。我们了解到:

1)Lending Circle计划与金融教育相结合,是提高全国低收入消费者金融能力的一个很好的模式。

  • 贷款圈后信用评分的平均增长: 168 分
  • 每个参与者的平均债务减少后贷款圈: $1,000 
  • 借贷圈后的平均信用评分: 603

2) 我们的 Lending Circle 模型与不同的非营利合作伙伴合作。

在他们的第二份报告中,研究人员发现,Lending Circle 计划在广泛的社区和组织中也有类似的结果,包括最近提供该计划的中国移民 中国新移民服务中心  LGBT 社区通过 旧金山 LGBT 中心,显示其广泛的吸引力。

  • 参加金融教育可额外增加信用评分 27分
  • 以社区为基础的非营利组织是 理想的交通工具 用于实施 Lending Circle 计划

凭借这两份报告的结果,我们能够有效地向全世界传达我们工作的影响。我们终于能够证明 5 年前在 Mission 中开始的一个小想法可以对辛勤工作的家庭的财务生活产生巨大的影响。

如需更深入的见解,请务必查看 完整报告ts.

特别感谢 福特基金会, 金融服务创新中心花旗社区发展 支持我们的工作!

Lending Circle Program Evaluation Released

With the release of two studies from independent researchers at SFSU, we now have the numbers to prove it.

At MAF, we’re all about understanding the impact of our work in the communities that use our products.

CCI logo Lending CircleOver the years, we have seen hundreds of people who have been on the margins of the financial mainstream walk through our doors looking for a way to help themselves navigate the world of finance by joining a Lending Circle. While witnessing these lives transformed by a Lending Circle has made us believers, it’s often been difficult to communicate these diverse impacts to the world. We know that a Lending Circle can help people achieve their financial goals, and but we needed the numbers to prove it. That’s why we had independent evaluators at San Francisco State University’s Cesar Chavez Institute study the impact of a Lending Circle on credit improvement among more than 600 participants in five Bay Area communities over two years. We learned that:

1) Pairing the Lending Circle program with financial education is a great model for increasing the financial capability of low-income consumers nationwide.

  • Average increase in credit score post-Lending Circle: 168 points
  • Average reduction in debt per participant post-Lending Circle: $1,000 
  • Average credit score post-Lending Circle: 603

2) Our Lending Circle model works with different non-profit partners.

In their second report, the researchers found that the Lending Circle program has similar results with a wide range of communities and organizations, including recent Chinese immigrants offered the program though The Chinese Newcomers Service Center  and the LGBT community offered the program through The SF LGBT Center, demonstrating its wide appeal.

  • Participating in financial education increases credit scores by an additional 27 points
  • Community-based non-profit organizations are an ideal vehicle for implementing the Lending Circle program

With the results from these two reports, we’re able to effectively communicate the impact of our work to the world. We’re finally able to prove that a little idea that started 5 years ago in the Mission is can make a huge difference in the financial lives of hardworking families.

For more in-depth insights, be sure to check out the full reports.

A special thanks to the Ford Foundation, Center for Financial Services Innovation, and Citi Community Development for supporting our work!

Eval1Cover             EvalCover2


Aparna Ananthasubramaniam