Lending Circles在Brown Boi项目上。


在有色人种的LGBTQ社区建立信用和信心

卡拉对借贷圈的第一次体验是在她开始与布朗-博伊项目合作之前,也是在她听说MAF之前。她知道他们是 "cundinas",她第一次遇到他们是在洛杉矶的服装厂,她十几岁的时候就开始在那里工作。

她和她的同事们组成了cundina,互相支持,共同存钱。他们每人同意每周捐款$100。

这并不是一个容易存下的数额。卡拉加班工作,以确保她能够支付每一笔款项。最终,她通过Cundina存了足够的钱,资助她去墨西哥旅行,她的大部分家人都住在那里。

卡拉接受了工厂的工作,知道她的最终目标是继续接受教育,很快她就参加了当地社区大学的夜间课程。

钱很紧张,课程也很昂贵,所以她背上了沉重的债务来资助她的学习。她没有意识到她本可以获得财政援助。

在开始学习后不久,卡拉在工作中遭遇了背部受伤。她的雇主不再给她工作时间,她最终进入了残疾状态,成为一名全日制学生。她转学到加州大学圣克鲁兹分校,一位教授帮助她申请了经济援助。卡拉喜欢她的女权主义研究和社会学课程,但她不断增加的债务负担却潜伏在背景中。她开始回避追债人的电话。她以这种方式勉强维持了几年。

她陷入了更深的债务漩涡。她强大的信用评分720分急剧下降,跌至500分以下。

从Cundinas到Lending Circles

大学毕业后不久,卡拉看到了一则招聘启事,上面写着 布朗博伊项目这是一个奥克兰的非营利组织,它将处于中心位置的男性女性、男性、双灵人、变性人和盟友聚集在一起,改变有色人种社区谈论性别的方式。

她马上知道--这份工作适合她。布朗博伊的使命和价值观与她自己的身份和经历相吻合。她毫不犹豫地提出申请。竞争很激烈,有80多名申请人在争夺这个职位。但卡拉对自己适合这个角色的看法是正确的。正如她所说的,她和布朗-博伊的员工 "只是很好地启动了它"。

她找到了她梦想的工作。但她的债务和受损的信用继续限制着她。

她在奥克兰努力寻找可以接受她低信用分数的住房。幸运的是,卡拉有一个朋友帮她找到了一套公寓。但由于没有信用卡,她无法负担新家的家具。

"所有这些事情都是如此耗费情感和压力的。我当时感到很沮丧。你的信用评分几乎可以感觉到与你自己的价值相连。"

正是在布朗博伊,卡拉了解到MAF管理的Lending Circles项目。她从早先与cundinas的经历中熟悉了这个概念。通过参与改善信用分数的承诺提升了她的精神--她开始想象如果她的生活不再被债务控制,她的选择不再被她的信用分数所限制,她会感到多么轻松。在经历了这么多年的财务排斥之后,卡拉很感激Lending Circles向她开放,无论她的信用分数如何。

卡拉为她的 "借贷圈 "带来了与多年前她为cundina带来的同样的纪律和奉献精神。在布朗博伊之后 成为Lending Circles的正式供应商卡拉抓住机会,成为该计划的首席工作人员组织者。

Carla以100%的准时付款完成了她的Lending Circle。她偿还了她的债务,甚至设法建立了储蓄。

但是,尽管她有完美的记录,她对检查她的信用评分感到紧张。她已经把信用评分等同于感到沮丧、灰心和困顿。

在借贷圈结束后的近一个月里,卡拉推迟了检查她的信用。在卡拉完成借贷圈的同一个月,她被邀请参加在白宫举行的有色人种创新者峰会。她带着自己的西装去购物,因为她现在有足够的储蓄来支付费用,这让她感到安慰。

卡拉找到了完美的装备:灰色西装配红色领带。在收银台,收银员向她提供了商店信用卡的申请。卡拉习惯于拒绝这些提议,因为她知道自己很可能不符合条件。但是这一次,她申请了。

令她震惊的是,她符合条件。

"我在$500的限制下获得了资格!我当时超级惊讶。我说,等等......什么,我有资格吗!"

在这个消息的鼓舞下,卡拉终于逼着自己去检查她的信用评分。她检查了一下:它已经上升了100分,达到650分。

她还清了商店的信用卡,并申请了另一张提供航空里程的卡。她再次获得批准--这次是$5000的限额。她的下一个目标是攒够钱,明年让她母亲飞往欧洲。

未来会发生什么

财务稳定改变了卡拉的人生观。

"我将是真实的,"她说。"我感觉很好。我有一张信用卡,以备不时之需。我知道当我需要钱的时候,它就在那里,我的压力就小了。"她补充说,"我感觉更踏实了,就像我的生活正在恢复。"

卡拉对启动更多的Lending Circles和鼓励与LGBTQ社区的有色人种进行更多关于金融排斥的公开对话感到很有激情。

"有很多的羞耻感。在我们的社区,谈论财务困境往往是禁忌......有时我们认为我们没有这些类型的问题,但我们有。"

现在,她将自己的消费控制在信用额度的25%以内,并且每个月都会付清卡中的全部余额。这些技能很实用,但它们对卡拉来说有更大的意义。她认为金融教育是掌握经济体系的一个强有力的方法,这个体系经常排斥有色人种和LGBTQ社区成员并使他们处于不利地位。

"没有人教我们如何玩这个游戏,"卡拉解释说。"但是通过金融教育模块,我们学会了规则。"

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Lending Circles at the Brown Boi Project

Building Credit & Confidence in LGBTQ Communities of Color

Carla’s first experience with a lending circle came long before she began working with Brown Boi Project, and long before she’d heard of MAF.

She knew them as “cundinas,” and she first encountered them at the Los Angeles clothing factory where she started working as a teenager.

She and her coworkers formed the cundina to support each other in saving money. They each agreed to make a weekly contribution of $100.

It wasn’t an easy amount to save. Carla worked overtime to ensure she could make each payment. Eventually, she saved enough money through the cundina to finance a trip to Mexico, where much of her family was living.

Carla had taken the factory job knowing that her ultimate goal was to continue her education, and soon she enrolled in night classes at a local community college.

Money was tight, and the classes were expensive, so she took on heavy debt to finance her studies. She didn’t realize that she could have qualified for financial aid.

Shortly after beginning her studies, Carla suffered a back injury at work. Her employers stopped giving her hours, and she eventually went on disability and became a full-time student. She transferred to UC Santa Cruz, and a professor assisted her in applying for financial aid. Carla loved her coursework in Feminist Studies and Sociology, but the burden of her growing debt lurked in the background. She began skirting calls from debt collectors. She scraped by this way for years.

She spiraled deeper into debt. Her strong credit score of 720 plummeted, dipping below 500.

maf-day-1-049From Cundinas to Lending Circles

Shortly after graduating from college, Carla came across an job opening announcement with Brown Boi Project, an Oakland nonprofit that brings together masculine-of-center womyn, men, two-spirit people, transmen and allies to change the ways communities of color talk about gender.

She knew right away – this job was for her. Brown Boi’s mission and values echoed her own identity and experience. She applied without hesitation. Competition was steep, with over 80 applicants vying for the position. But Carla was right about her fit for the role. As she tells it, she and the staff at Brown Boi “just kicked it off well.”

She’d landed her dream job. But her debt and damaged credit continued to limit her.

She struggled to find housing in Oakland that would accept her low credit score. Fortunately, Carla had a friend who helped her find an apartment. But without a credit card, she couldn’t afford to furnish her new home.

“All of those things are so emotionally draining and stressful. I was feeling depressed. Your credit score can almost feel attached to your own worth.”

It was at Brown Boi that Carla learned about the Lending Circles program that MAF manages. She was familiar with the concept from her earlier experience with the cundinas. The promise of improving her credit score through participation lifted her spirit – she began to imagine the relief she would feel if her life were no longer controlled by debt, her options no longer curtailed by her credit score. After so many years of financial exclusion, Carla appreciated that Lending Circles were open to her regardless of her credit score.

Carla brought the same discipline and dedication to her Lending Circle that she had brought to the cundina years before. After Brown Boi became an official Lending Circles provider, Carla seized the opportunity to become the lead staff organizer for the program.

Carla finished her Lending Circle with 100% on-time payments. She paid down her debt and even managed to build up savings.

But despite her perfect track record, she was nervous to check her credit score. She had come to equate a credit score with feeling disheartened, discouraged, and stuck.

For almost a month after the Lending Circle ended, Carla delayed checking her credit. The same month Carla completed her Lending Circle, she was invited to attend a summit for innovators of color at the White House. She took herself suit shopping, comforted by the fact that she now had enough savings to cover the costs.

Carla found the perfect outfit: a grey suit with a red tie. At the register, the cashier offered her an application for the store credit card. Carla was accustomed to declining these offers, knowing she would likely not qualify. But this time, she applied.

And to her shock, she qualified.

“I qualified at a $500 limit! I was super surprised. I said, wait… What? I qualify?!”

Buoyed by this news, Carla finally pushed herself to check her credit score. She checked: it had risen 100 points to 650.

She paid off the store credit card and applied for a different card that offered airline miles. Again, she was approved – this time for a $5000 limit. Her next goal is save enough money to fly her mother to Europe next year.

What the Future Holds

Financial stability has transformed Carla’s outlook on life.

“I’m gonna be real,” she says. “I feel good. I have a credit card in case of emergency. I’m less stressed knowing that when I need the money, it’s there.” She adds, “I feel more grounded, like my life is coming back together.”

Carla feels passionate about starting more Lending Circles and encouraging more open conversations about financial exclusion with people of color in the LGBTQ community:

“There’s a lot of shame. It’s often taboo to talk about financial struggles in our community… Sometimes we think we don’t have these types of problems, but we do.”

She now keeps her spending under 25% of her credit limit and pays off the full balance of her cards each month. These skills are practical, but they have a larger significance to Carla. She sees financial education as a powerful way of mastering an economic system that so often excludes and disadvantages people of color and members of the LGBTQ community.

“No one has taught us how to play this game,” Carla explains. “But with financial education modules, we learn the rules.”


Elena Fairley Elena Fairley joined MAF in the summer of 2015 as a Partner Success Manager. She loves seeing community members come together to support one another. In this spirit, she is excited to bring Lending Circles to communities across the U.S. Born and raised in Portland, OR, Elena (unsurprisingly) is an outdoor fanatic, and spends her free time rock climbing, hiking, surfing, and mountain biking.