يسوع: باني مجتمع شاب

عندما يتم إصلاح نظام الهجرة ، أريد أن يشعر الناس بالأمان في برنامج مثل DACA. إنه هنا لمساعدتنا.

عندما كان يسوع في الخامسة من عمره ، هاجر مع والديه إلى الولايات المتحدة. كان والدا يسوع مشغولين في العمل والبحث عن عمل حيث كان هو وأخيه يقضيان الكثير من الوقت في الرعاية بعد المدرسة. شعر يسوع بالوحدة في معظم الأوقات. كان يبحث عن الأشخاص الذين شاركوا تجاربه ، لكنهم شعروا بالعزلة عن الأطفال الآخرين في مدرسته. كان يعتقد أنه وجد مجموعة من الأصدقاء عندما وقع مع أفراد العصابة المحلية التي كانت تتسكع بالقرب من مدرسته. لكنه كان مخطئًا ، فقد تخلى عنه أفراد العصابة الذين كان يعتقد أنهم عائلته الجديدة عندما كان في أمس الحاجة إليهم. كان يعلم أنه ارتكب خطأ فادحًا في ثقته بهم.

أدرك يسوع أن لديه القدرة على تغيير حياته.

بعد هذه التجربة ، عمل يسوع بجد ليحول نفسه إلى تلميذ أفضل. لقد عمل بجد وحصل على أعلى الدرجات وبدأ في الفوز بجوائز. وجد عائلة جديدة كانت موجودة دائمًا من أجله ، عندما انضم إلى فريق كرة القدم. بمجرد أن وجد والديه عملاً ، شعر بعودة الاستقرار. حتى مع تغيير مسار حياته للأفضل ، ومستقبله يبدو مشرقًا ، لا يزال يشعر أن نظرته كانت محدودة للغاية.

بدون مواطنته ، لم يكن مستقبل يسوع آمنًا تمامًا. لن يكون قادرًا على الالتحاق بالكلية. لن نتمكن من السفر إلى أي مكان آخر في العالم. عرف يسوع من خبرة والديه أن قدرته على البحث ستكون محدودة. سرعان ما كان لديه بصيص من الأمل. كان قد سمع عن إعلان عن برنامج جديد للشباب مثله. بدأ في الحصول على أكبر قدر ممكن من المعلومات حول DACA. لقد سئم الكثير في مجتمعه من البرنامج. لقد شعروا أن ترحيلهم كان خدعة. عرف يسوع أن هذه كانت فرصته لتغيير حياته ، ومن خلال التقدم بطلب للحصول على DACA ، تمكن أخيرًا من الحصول على رخصة قيادة ، والتقدم لوظيفة ، والذهاب إلى الكلية. ساعد Lending Circles for DREAMers جيسوس في تمويل الطلب وجعله أقرب إلى حلمه: دراسة القانون ورد الجميل لمجتمع المهاجرين باستخدام تجربته الخاصة.

نظرة جديدة للحياة.

يعمل يسوع الآن لمساعدة الأطفال الآخرين مثله. إنه يريد منهم أن يعرفوا أنهم ليسوا وحدهم ، وأن بإمكانهم تحقيق أي شيء يريدونه. ألقى جيسوس مؤخرًا خطابًا أمام 600 شخص في ندوة CORO للقيادة وحصل على تدريب داخلي في مكتب المشاركة المدنية وشؤون المهاجرين في مدينة سان فرانسيسكو.

قال "أريد أن يشعر الناس بالأمان في برنامج مثل DACA". "عندما يتم إصلاح نظام الهجرة ، أريدهم أن يستفيدوا من أي برامج موجودة هناك. إنهم هناك لمساعدتنا ".

ساعد جيسوس في إدارة برنامج سفراء المجتمع وإجراء التوعية لتشجيع الشباب على التقدم بطلب للحصول على DACA. إنه يعمل لمساعدة الشباب الآخرين مثله على الالتحاق بالجامعة ، والحصول على رخص القيادة ، وعيش الحياة التي وعدهم بها الحلم الأمريكي. بمساعدة DACA و Lending Circles لـ DREAMers ، كل شيء ممكن ليسوع.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Jesus: young community builder

When immigration reform goes through, I want people to feel safe in a program like DACA. It's here to help us.

JesusStory_HeaderFINAL

When Jesus was five years old, he immigrated to the U.S. with his parents. Jesus’ parents were busy working and job hunting that he and his brother would spend a lot of time in after school care. Jesus felt alone most of the time. He was looking for people who shared his experiences, but felt isolated from the other kids at his school. He thought he had found a group of friends when he fell in with the local gang members that hung out near his school. But he was wrong, the gang members that he had thought were his new family abandoned him when he needed them the most. He knew he had made a huge mistake trusting them.

Jesus realized he had the power to change his life.

After that experience, Jesus worked hard to transform himself into a better student. He worked hard, earned top grades and started winning awards. He found a new family that was always there for him, when he joined the soccer team. Once his parents both found employment, he felt a sense of stability return. Even with his life changing course for the better, and his future looking bright he still felt his outlook was very limited.

Without his citizenship, Jesus’ future was not totally secure. He wouldn’t be able to attend college. We wouldn’t be able to travel anywhere else in the world. Jesus knew from his parent’s experience that his ability to find would would be limited. Soon, he had a ray of hope. He had heard of an announcement of a new program for young people like him. He started to get as much information on DACA as possible. Many in his community were weary of the program. They felt that it was a trick to deport them.  Jesus knew that this was his chance to change his life, and by applying for DACA  he was able to finally get a driver’s license, apply for a job, and go to college. Lending Circles for DREAMers helped Jesus finance the application and get him closer to his dream: to study law and give back to the immigrant community using his own experience.

A new outlook on life.

Jesus now works to help other kids like him. He want’s them to know that they are not alone, and that they can achieve anything they want. Jesus recently gave a speech in front of 600 people at a CORO Leadership seminar and earned an internship with the City of San Francisco’s Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs.

“I want people to feel safe in a program like DACA,” he said.  “When immigration reform goes through, I want them to take advantage of whatever programs that are out there. They are there to help us.”

Jesus has helped manage a Community Ambassadors program and conduct outreach to encourage youth to apply for DACA. He works to help other young people like him attend college, get drivers licences, and live the life they have been promised by the American dream. With the help of DACA and Mission Asset Fund’s Lending Circles for DREAMers anything is possible for Jesus.


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.