谷歌被质疑


回顾我们令人难以置信的 Google Challenge 体验

“你们不会相信吧!” MAF 的首席开发官塔拉·罗宾逊 (Tara Robinson) 说道,她的眼中闪烁着狂野的光芒,脸上洋溢着笑容。 MAF 的首席运营官丹妮拉·萨拉斯 (Daniela Salas) 和我都渴望听到她的惊人消息。

几个月前,塔拉 (Tara) 为一个非常特殊的机会一时兴起写了一份资助申请。自从我们推出一个新网站、让我成为新员工并重新命名我们所有的平台后,她就完全忘记了这件事。

塔拉抓着手机,开始大声朗读电子邮件,“我们很高兴地宣布……”

她停了下来。

丹妮拉和我怀着激动的期待坚持了怀孕的停顿。

“哦”,塔拉若有所思。 “这是绝密,你们谁也不能告诉任何人。”丹妮拉和我立即同意了,因为谁不想知道秘密呢?

“我们收到通知,MAF 已被 Google 选为湾区前 10 名非营利组织之一! ”塔拉说。

丹妮拉和我很困惑但很兴奋。

“那对我们来说意味着什么?”我问。

“嗯,我们被选中参加 谷歌湾区影响挑战赛,”塔拉解释道。我们几乎不知道这次谈话将是几周的战略制定、组织、写作、竞选和投票的旋风的开始——简而言之,这是 MAF 迄今为止经历的最具变革性的经历之一。

已接受的挑战

谷歌从三个主要方面考察了 1000 多个组织:需求、计划影响和可扩展性,以选出由公众投票选出的前 10 名湾区非营利组织,以获得高达 $500,000 的赠款资金。我们进入了前 10 名!

一旦我们能够将这个激动人心的事件的消息告诉其他员工,我们的首要任务就是让我们的 Lending Circle 计划及其影响易于为湾区内外的人们所理解,因此他们会投票给我们.

对于大多数人来说,谈论信用建设就像看着油漆变干一样有趣。

我们的解决方案是运行视觉社交媒体和电子邮件活动。我们必须找到一种高度创新的方式来创建可以快速查看的内容,不仅可以讲述 MAF 的故事,还可以讲述我们成员的故事以及我们的计划所做的事情。通常,所有这些都必须用少于 140 个字符来传达!

我们的营销团队共同打造了一个由故事、图片、社交媒体帖子和关键信息组成的强大活动,这些活动将告诉人们我们是谁以及在他们的支持下我们可以在社区中产生什么样的影响。我们还收集了当地和全国的合作伙伴、支持者和倡导者的名单,以帮助我们宣传。我们制定了一个时间表,用于在当地企业分发传单和海报,参加活动、节日、街角画布等等!从 5 月 22 日到 6 月 2 日,我们全力以赴推出我们的内容并激励我们的朋友、家人和网络在 谷歌挑战投票网站.

给予信用

我们从庆祝的角度来接受 Google 挑战赛的邀请。 Google 不仅认为我们是一个影响力很大的组织,而且还将获得信用建设和负担得起的金融工具视为湾区当地社区的一项关键需求。对我们来说,仅此一项就是重大胜利。

最终,MAF 没有在投票活动中获得前 4 名,但我们得到的却更有价值。我们能够接触到一个全新的人群(超过 200 万!),并让他们知道金融赋权和信用建设对于为辛勤工作的家庭创造可持续未来的重要性。

我们对来自世界各地的会员、合作伙伴和支持者的大力支持感到谦卑。我们也很感谢因进入前 10 名而获得 $250,000 的奖励,因此我们将能够将我们的计划扩展到湾区 14 个新社区的数千个家庭。

有趣的是,像电子邮件这样小的东西可以改变组织的进程。您为支持辛勤工作的家庭而发出的声音确实产生了影响。我们能够揭示没有银行账户或信用评分的人面临的日常挑战,分享他们坚持不懈的成功故事,并启动关于创建公平金融市场的重要对话。

感谢大家与我们一起度过这段奇妙的经历。没有你,我们不可能做到!

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Google Challenged

A look back on our incredible Google Challenge experience

“You guys are not going to believe it!” Tara Robinson, MAF’s Chief Development Officer, said with a wild glint in her eye and a smile spreading across her face. Daniela Salas, MAF’s COO, and I were both eager to hear what her amazing news was.

Months earlier, Tara had written a grant application on a whim for a very special opportunity. She had completely forgotten about it since we were launching a new website, onboarding me as a new employee, and rebranding all our platforms.

As Tara clutched her phone, she began to read the email aloud, “We are excited to announce that…”General English Facebook

She stopped.

Daniela and I hung on the pregnant pause with excited anticipation.

“Oh”, Tara mused. “This is top secret, so none of you can tell anyone yet.” Daniela and I agreed immediately, because who doesn’t want to be in on a secret?

“We’ve been notified that MAF has been chosen as one of the top 10 nonprofit organizations in the Bay Area by Google! ” Tara said.

Daniela and I were confused but excited.

“So what does that mean for us?” I asked.

“Well, we have been chosen to participate in the Google Bay Area Impact Challenge,” Tara explained. Little did we know that this conversation would be the beginning of a whirlwind few weeks of strategizing, organizing, writing, campaigning, and voting–in short, one of the most transformative experiences that MAF has been through so far.

Challenge Accepted

Opportunity Google DREAMERSGoogle looked at over a thousand organizations for three main points: need, program impact, and scalability, to select the top 10 Bay Area nonprofits that would be voted on by the general public to receive up to $500,000 in grant funding. And we were in the top 10!

Once we were able to break the news to the rest of the staff about this exciting event, our first task was to make our Lending Circle program and its impact easily understandable for people in and out of the Bay Area, so they would vote for us.

For most people, talking about credit-building is as interesting as watching paint dry.

Our solution was to run a visual social media and email campaign. We had to find a highly innovative way of creating content that could be seen quickly and tell not only MAF’s story, but also the story of our members and what our programs do. Often, all of this had to be conveyed in less than 140 characters!

Our marketing team worked together to assemble a robust campaign of stories, images, social media posts, and key messaging that would tell people who we are and the kind of impact we could make in our community with their support. We also gathered together a list of our partners, supporters and advocates locally and nationally to help us get the word out. We created a schedule to pass out flyers and posters at local businesses, attend events, festivals, canvas on street corners and more! From May 22 to June 2, it was all hands on deck to push out our content and inspire our friends, family and networks to vote for us on the Google Challenge voting site.

Giving Creditgoogleblog2

We approached the invitation to the Google Challenge from a celebratory standpoint. Google had not only identified us as a high impact organization, but it had also identified access to credit building and affordable financial tools as a critical need for local communities in the Bay Area. For us, this alone was a major victory.

In the end, MAF did not receive a top 4 spot in the voting campaign, but what we did get was much more valuable. We were able to reach a whole new group of people (more than 2 million!) and let them know how critical financial empowerment and credit building is to creating sustainable futures for hardworking families.

We were humbled by the amazing support from our members, partners, and supporters all over the world. We’re also grateful for an award of $250,000 for making the top 10, so we’ll be able to scale our program to thousands of families in 14 new communities in the Bay Area.

It’s interesting how something as small as an email can change the course of an organization. The voices you raised in support of hardworking families really made a difference. We were able to bring light to the everyday challenges that people without bank accounts or credit scores face, share their triumphant stories of perseverance, and kickstart an important conversation on creating a fair financial marketplace.

Thank you all for being with us through this amazing experience. We couldn’t have done it without you!


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.