通过Lending Circles实现金融自尊


了解 MAF 和旧金山 LGBT 中心如何联合起来帮助所有家庭获得财务稳定以蓬勃发展。

旧金山 LGBT 中心,作为它的第 7 年的一部分 两岸 LGBT 经济正义周,授予三名模范社区成员和一个社区组织,以表彰他们在确保 LGBT 社区的经济稳定和流动性方面所做的工作。

MAF很荣幸被选为今年的盟友奖的获得者。

MAF 最近被谈论了很多。我们所做的工作在很多方面得到了各种团体的认可。全国的认可是巨大的,但代表 MAF 在 LGBT 中心接受盟友奖对我来说是一个特别特别的时刻。

西部银行代表 Justin Knepper 在颁奖时介绍了以下内容:“MAF 与中心之间的合作伙伴关系已成为当地 LGBTQ 社区的重要资源,使客户能够获得安全、负担得起且对社会负责的资本——打开大门,以前经常被关上。参与 LGBT 中心由 MAF 支持的借贷圈已帮助 150 多名客户省钱、建立信用记录、提高信用评分并改善整体财务状况。”

七年来,旧金山 LGBT 中心一直在为许多 LGBT 人群发现自己处于财务阴影中创造知名度。

仅在旧金山,只有不到 50% 经济稳定的 LGBT 夫妇拥有财产。 LGBT 青年发现自己无家可归或处于经济不确定状态的可能性是同龄人的两倍。我们与许多人合作过 LGBT 夫妇 一直生活在金融阴影中的人。我分享了 埃德加和古斯塔沃的故事,一对因无证件和 LGBT 而经历财务不稳定的夫妇。

对我来说,站在这个舞台上 凯尔维·琼斯, 少校小姐科特尼·齐格勒博士,为自己的社区努力奋斗并成为运动建设和赋权偶像的人们是一种荣誉。刚刚与这些了不起的社区领袖一起被提及,这证明了 Lending Circles 如何为全国社区建立通往更光明未来的桥梁。

MAF将继续 与 LGBT 中心密切合作,成为所有家庭的盟友,无论他们采取什么形式。 MAF 将继续发出我们的声音,以强调 LGBT 社区中的财务隐形和不确定性问题。 MAF 将继续帮助所有社区走出金融阴影,并开辟通往金融主流的道路。

我们希望帮助每个人摆脱生存,我们希望看到他们茁壮成长。我们的家庭越强大,我们的社区就越强大。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Financial Pride through Lending Circles

Find out how MAF & the San Francisco LGBT center have allied themselves to help all families gain financial stability to thrive.

Cross-Country-Trip-2012-354

The San Francisco LGBT Center, as part of it’s 7th annual bi-coastal LGBT Economic Justice Week, awarded three exemplary community members and one community organization for their work in ensuring the economic stability, and mobility of the LGBT community.

MAF was honored to be chosen as the winner of this year’s Ally Award.

MAF has been talked about a lot lately. We’ve been recognized by various groups in many ways for the work that we do. The national recognition has been tremendous, but accepting the Ally Award at the LGBT Center on behalf of MAF was a particularly special moment for me.

IMG_7181Bank of the West representative Justin Knepper presented the award with the following introduction, “The partnership between MAF and the Center has served as a crucial resource for the local LGBTQ community, granting clients access to secure, affordable and socially responsible capital – opening doors that previously were far too often slammed shut. Participation in a MAF-powered Lending Circle at the LGBT Center has helped more than 150 clients to save money, develop their credit histories, boost their credit scores, and improve their overall financial health.”

For seven years the San Francisco LGBT Center has been creating visibility around the financial shadows that many LGBT people find themselves in.

In San Francisco alone less than 50% of economically stable LGBT couples own property. LGBT youth are twice as likely as their peers to find themselves homeless or in a state of economic uncertainty. We’ve worked with many LGBT couples who have been living in the financial shadows. I shared the story of Edgar and Gustavo, a couple who experience financial instability because they are undocumented and LGBT.

For me, standing on this stage with Celve Jones, Miss Major, and Dr. Kortney Zeigler, people who have fought hard for their communities, and have become icons of movement building and empowerment is an honor. Just being mentioned with these amazing community leaders is a testament to how Lending Circles are building bridges toward brighter futures for communities across the nation.

MAF will continue to work closely with the LGBT Center, to be an ally to all families, no matter what form they take. MAF will continue to bring our voice to highlight the issues of financial invisibility and uncertainty among the LGBT community. MAF will continue to help all communities out of the financial shadows and create pathways toward the financial mainstream.

We want to help everyone move past just surviving, we want to see them thrive. The stronger our families are, the stronger our communities become.


Mohan Kanungo is the Director of Engagement at Mission Asset Fund. Mohan joined MAF in 2013 to lead programs that financially empower youth. Since then, his role has expanded to explore potential partners for MAF’s social-loan programs. Outside of work Mohan likes to frolic with his various pets, engage with community groups, and stroll around Oakland.